We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“merlot1 review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coachman Motel

Coachman Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coachman Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“merlot1 review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked in February 27th for 1 night and what a pleasant couple who run this motel.The units had been refurbished and were very clean and comfortable and we would stay there again.
In the room was a list of restaurants and we chose Gumboot Manor as it was just a few minutes walk down the road.What a mistake that was as there were flies every where and it stunk of fried and fatty food.My husband ordered a burger off the 'snack' side of the menu and I ordered fish and chips.The mature lady that served us repeated my husbands order then repeated my order with the words 'the fish meal'.I pointed to what I gad chosen and said this one which was $8.50. The meals came out my husbands was O.K. and mine had 2 pieces of fish,chips of sorts.Well the fish was horrible and I struggled to get through 1 piece.We went to pay and the same lady was ready to take our money but the bill seemed too high and my husband said that I had ordered an $8.50 fish and chips and the lady said ,no you ordered the fish meal which I think was $22.00 !!! I said no and said what I had ordered but she started arguing and I said 'you should have made yourself clear and she snapped back 'you should of made yourself clear'.We payed what she wanted and left vowing never to go back.
I suggest that no one in their right mind should go there and probably the best place in Taihape is Soul Kitchen in the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Everything we needed after a long drive. We enjoyed the recommended nearby walk. A great place to stop over in. Bed was very comfy and host friendly and helpful. No need to detour from the main highway. We cooked for ourselves but looked to be plenty of eating out options close by.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived in Taihape needing a motel on visting 3 motels decided on Coachman Motel. Was shown 2 different rooms on arrival. The room only had 3 beds, there was 4 of us, they offered to put a rollaway bed in for us. Received two small bottles of milk , great supply, and a newspaper in the morning, stayed at other motels in other places and never received milk or a newspaper. Others have mentioned on here the washing of the car window in the morning, a nice little touch. Did hear the traffic on the main road but didn't affect sleep at all. A motel that felt so clean... Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We travelled North from Timaru staying at several motels and Hotels along the way and the Coachman far exceeded any other establishment. We stayed on our way up and again on our way home and both times the service was superior. We had continental breakfast one time and a cooked breakfast the other and both times excellent and value for money.Graham was friendly and professional and made our stay a pleasure each time. We also had our windscreen washed both times .Graham and Allison thankyou for an enjoyable stop.
Barbara and Trevor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night at the Coachman in a 2 bedroom family unit. Whilst not overly modern, it was very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The owner, Graham, was extremely helpful and even cleaned our campervan windscreen for us in the morning, despite it having 3 days worth of bugs welded on to it! A very nice personal touch.
I would happily stay there again and would recommend it to other travellers. The road is a bit busy with trucks passing though, but it did not disturb us at night - perhaps helped by the fact that we had had a long day and were very tired :-)

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripletsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

this was such a relief to find as it was the end of a really long day. The hosts are wonderful and nothing was a bother. They even cleaned our car windscreen in the morning. Fantastic local knowledge too of Hobbity kind of places to go. Mad keen Lord of the rings fan travelling as well. Thanks

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had stayed at this motel previously so it was our first choice. Units have all that is required, clean and bed most comfortable, however we had the front unit so were disturbed by heavy trucks on the highway at times during the night - but had a restful sleep regardless. Close to a restaurant, a small native bush reserve with pathway and the charming village of Taihape. Obliging hosts. We recommend.

Room Tip: A unit at the back will get less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honkypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taihape
0.0 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Motel

Property: Coachman Motel
Address: Main North Highway | P.O.Box 177, Taihape, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coachman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing