We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and tidy stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Taihape Motel

Taihape Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taihape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taihape Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good and tidy stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Got off the Wellington ferry and decided to see how far we could drive. Arrived late afternoon in Taihape and stayed here. Very friendly owner, is like stepping back into the 50s but clean and tidy. Good overnight stay whilst passing through. Highly recommend if looking for somewhere cheap just to bed down for the night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Tsultrim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
39
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very friendly reception, luxurious rooms with all facilities, welcome snacks, drinks and continental breakfast. This motel is an excellent value for money at a budget friendly cost. Motelier waited for me till late (9pm) as I had requested. Unit had excellent heating facilities including heated blankets. An excellent option to spend a night while driving in North Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The motel is well signposted so that even if you arrive at night as we did, you will have no trouble finding the place.

We booked a double ensuite which was enough for 3 adults + 1 child. Room was well maintained. My only gripe would be the separate taps in the kitchen & wash-basin which meant that it was a juggling act between the almost boiling hot water & the cold water.

Reception was nice & friendly & were available at night when we checked-in.

Taihape itself has got a New World, Four Square, a couple of banks & a few other shops which are enough if you do need anything.

Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CycloneWellywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I never thought you could get a motel for tis price in NZ and was expecting a rough night.

Was I surprised!

Older units but the only influence this had was the block walls which helped soundproofing.

The unit had been (re) furbished by someone who KNOWS motels. Plugs in the right place, comfortable and warm bed, a heater that actually WILL heat the whole room.

So I could not fault the room. But the free "extra's" were brilliant. From the beer and chips on arrival, past the free internet (for 3 attachments), past the multi channel TV, past breakfast, right through to the newspaper on the doorstep next morning.

I left not understanding how the owner makes any money! Anywhere but Taihape you would be happy to pay twice the amount for this quality. And I left with 2 cards offering a 10% discount on the next stay, which I will not use because rack rate is enough value for money!

Hint: put your prices up
Small point: drop some of the other perks if necessary, but a shampoo sachet in the bathroom would be useful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington new zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were at the motel for 1 night on our way up to Auckland. We arrived about 9pm with boat on the back. Con showed us several available units then suggested one of these, directed us to it and offered to help manoever the boat around the courtyard. He went off briefly then reappeared with a cover to put over the car windscreen as we had told him our intention to drive off early - and he was aware there would be a frost to contend with. He made sure we had everything we required - and yes on the table chips and a beer complementary of Con.

Most moteliers are difficult to get out of their office - let alone a 15min welcome to the motel with assistance. Quite exceptional. The units themselves are comfortable and completely adequate - and $90/ night for the largest. Thanks Con, we enjoyed our stay.

San & Bert

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppyh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A stop Taihape was necessary to avoid the Desert Road at night. After visiting a rather grim looking hotel at the other end of town, we stumbled across the Taihape Motel. Our host, Con ('just call me Conman') met us in the pouring rain, and gave us his best unit for the reasonable price of $70. Little did we know, we were about to experience one of the best places we have stayed in New Zealand over a two week trip. Not only was the room, clean and comfortable. It was spacious and a time machine. We were hurdled back to the 70's with the decor and hospitality. We were kindly supplied with towels (somewhat a rarity in backpackers and hostels), but not only this. We were also given, cold beer on arrival, four bags of crisps, bread, jam, butter and vegemite, cereal, and tea & coffee. The rooms had Sky TV, DVD player with a free DVD library, a heater and a nice bathroom. To top it all off, when we awoke from a comfortable sleep there was the days newspaper pushed under the door.

Above and beyond all expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadiejuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We always stay overnight at Taihape on our way back from the South or lower north Island. We are working so always arrive late and want buget accomodation. From the first visit the owner greeted us like old friends. After a long drive gives us a glass of wine some chips. Milk for our coffee. packets of Cereal jam, Bread and a newspaper are provided for our morning Breakfast. We are shown to our old retro Unit. The fire and TV are put on for us. There are two very comfortable double beds in this unit. No view, the room is like something out of a seventys movie but for friendliness and comfort at a rock bottom price you cant beat it. If you are looking for a more up market unit and to stay awhile they have several new ones. Be sure to check out the fabulouse roses that seem to bloom most of the year around this Motel.

Room Tip: Choose the newer units on the South side if you are staying for a few days. The Railway is close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0.6 mi away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
11.8 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taihape Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taihape Motel

Property: Taihape Motel
Address: 1 Kuku Street, Taihape 4742, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing