We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Regular for our family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taihape Motel

Taihape Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taihape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taihape Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Regular for our family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our family have stayed here on and off over many years; this been the first time we have returned for a long time. Was still the same ;-) Friendly service on arrival as always. Rooms are basic as is the price to match. Did the three of us well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
39
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
274 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've been here about five times now. Instead of staying the night in Taupo going south, I often stay here (it's not that good going North if you want to leave first thing in morning as you could encounter frost, fog, danger on The Desert Road) because it's roughly half the price of a Taupo motel. The owner is a nice fellow. Foir years he's been giving me bags of potato crisps, soft drink (or beer). There's bread for toast, and jam and butter. Lots of tv channels (mainly sport, sigh...). There's a New World Supermarket in the main street, a microwave in the unit, and plastic flowers in the gardens. Pretend you're in the sixties, and you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: I like the studio units with a double bed. Just wave vaguely to the row of units that you can see f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orari
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

if your into the 1970's motel look and like like greek decor then this is the place for you. over all the place was basic and the manager was very friendly it was a good place to break up a long trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This motel was conveniently located for our holiday plans. The motel was in need of a face lift but was clean and tidy with all the ammenities you could hope for in a budget motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonHaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson NZ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

A great Welcome and very good pricing but small beds for tall people.

Room Tip: No traffic noise but you will probably hear the trains pass through town in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The manager was very friendly and helpful and the place is good value for money. We were unfortunate in that my daughter was awoken by someone playing loud music at 3 a.m. The manager had an idea who it may have been. With 21 units, the chance of this happening occasionally must be moderately high. My daughter is an elite athlete who was running in a classic track meet the next day. She was definitely hampered by being woken up. It probably cost her her race. The manager was very good and reduced our bill. I do not blame him for the problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

. We stayed here many times and are always welcome no matter how late at night you turn up. Nice and pleasant host. Rooms are clean and spacious, comfortable warm and all the beds have electrical blankets and a fan in summer. It is quiet and you will get a good rest after your trip between north and south.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pluisthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0.6 mi away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
11.8 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taihape Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taihape Motel

Property: Taihape Motel
Address: 1 Kuku Street, Taihape 4742, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing