We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Kerrington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kerrington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were going to an event at River Cottage and needed somewhere close by to stay,booked a double room at Kerrington House.Really could not have been better served,the room and breakfast were fantastic.A large ensuite room with all the trimmings,towels,soaps,robes,tv,etc etc..In the morning we were treated to a breakfast of our choice for me it was poached eggs and bacon,Eggs were perfect ,fresh and soft.,bacon crisp and tasty,all served with a warm basket of white and wholemeal toast.
Well done

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 167 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

A favourite of mine, I've stayed here many times over the last six years. A very quaint relaxing experience, great breakfasts, friendly service and an honesty bar! All rooms are of a high standard to give you are home from home feel, evening meals are not available at the Kerrington, but a short walk into Axminster town and Indian, Chinese or the River Cottage is there to sample. Within a short drive you can also check out the Jurassic Coast line of Lyme Regis or heading the other way there are plenty of nice pubs to try for a bite to eat.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank M4rkbr4dders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Fionna could do nothing more to make your stay the best, great rooms, best breakfast and a beautiful newfoundland puppy called beatrice.

It was so nice to feel welcome and all of the staff are so friendly it is refreshing to see

Room Tip: stayed in room 1 which has a great view over the garden and room 5 which has a great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobSCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel, beautifully kept, warm and inviting.
The attention to detail was second to none, I asked for a romantic room and we had a beautiful front bedroom with a four poster bed.
The bed linen was high quality and the matress was like sleeping on cotton wool.
The breakfast was high quality local Ingredients, best breakfast we have eaten, we were served by very polite and friendly young girls and the dinning room was beautifully decorated.
The lady who owns the hotel works very hard indeed and nothing is to much trouble.

There was only one problem, 8am on a Sunday morning having the hoover going and a massive loud banging noise woke us up, but we would still return.
Axminster was delightful and Lyme Regis is breathtaking.
We have found out retirement place !!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for the Four poster bed at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

What a find! The perfect place to spend a night if you are visiting River Cottage HQ - the room was beautifully furnished in the Victorian style, as well being clean and comfortable, with all sorts of thoughtful touches, like a mini decanter of sherry! Breakfast was delicious. Tip: ring well in advance if you want to book a cab to and from River Cottage, as the local cab firms get very booked up.

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely - we had No 2 with a sleigh bed, very comfy and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetgardeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I arrived later than expected due to traffic and received the most kind and accommodating welcome. I slept very well in the most comfortable bed and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Thank you so much to the brilliant host. I was especially impressed at kind words to guests and kitchen staff. Evidently kind and caring hosts and employers also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in October. We weren't really expecting great things but were amazed at how lovely this place is. The property is a wonderful Victorian mansion set in lovely gardens a short walk away from the centre of Axminster. The owners are very friendly, the rooms are clean, spacious and very well appointed. Lots of little details included which we really appreciated. The shower was great, as was the breakfast. (the dining room is open plan to the kitchen so you can see them cooking etc, really nice feature). The public rooms downstairs are beautiful and there is a well stocked honesty bar. All in all, a real find. A gem. We'll be back for sure.

Also, the hotel dog is adorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
4.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
908 reviews
11.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
524 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerrington House

Address: Kerrington House Musbury Road, Axminster EX13 5JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axminster
Price Range: $130 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerrington House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifully landscaped gardens on the edge of Axminster, Kerrington House has been lovingly and sympathetically restored retaining many period features such as marble fireplaces and fine plasterwork ceilings. Decorated in soft neutral colours, the hotel has been furnished with relaxation in mind,and favourite pieces to suit the mood of individual rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kerrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerrington Hotel Devon
Kerrington House Axminster, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing