We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”

The Tytherleigh Arms
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Three of us visited for dinner on Saturday night in July. We knew it was popular so we did book, but we're surprised that whilst it was busy in certainly wasn't fully booked. There's a nice bar where we had per dinner drinks and had a look at the menu. The menu isn't massive but there's a nice choice of fish, meats and 2 veggie dishes. I had sardines for starter (over a toasted base and tomato type bruschetta) - very good. I had the ribeye which was also good. My husband had buffalo liver (a first) and he said it was excellent. My husband had the cheese board - it had good flavours but he would have liked slightly more. This restaurant is considered to be one of the best in the area and from our experience we'd concur with that. Staff friendly & efficient and they also knew there stuff. Not cheap but worth the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    90
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have dined here before on a couple of occasions and can honestly say it is outstanding in every respect. We went last week for dinner with our daughter, the environment is pleasant , the service professional, the menu imaginative. Plenty of choice, we chose crab profiteroles, scallops, steak, stone bass and finished with assiette de desserts. Fantastic , we will certainly return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The most stunning surprise”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife & I accidentally pulled into this restaurant car park actually thinking it was somewhere else.....and thank goodness we did! The menu immediately entices you. It's simple, elegant and not at all pretentious. We were greeted in a friendly, inviting manner. The owners clearly have a lot of pride in what they do, and it shows. The food was fabulous, well presented, well seasoned & delicious. The only fault I could find was that there was maybe too much on my plate & very very hot. These are ludicrously picky criticisms but just something to note, you will not leave hungry. All round excellent experience! A*

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benzadork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Thank you Tytherleigh Arms.!
We are a local family who booked a "low key" lunch for my daughters birthday.
So lovely. Very pleasant friendly staff. Plenty of room.. Restful welcoming decor.
A superb meal - we wish we could have eaten more but were rather full of birthday cake before we arrived!
We have a holiday cottage nearby and would not hesitate recommending this great place to visitors and family alike.
Appreciated the sparkler candle in my daughters dessert. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EiMusbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Better than it looks from the road”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The pub is easily missed and given its location it is a pity it does not have a nice garden for those days that ask to be enjoyed outside.
However the refurbishment inside has produced a really nice setting. The service is pleasant and efficient. Prices are at the top end - its easy to spend £90 for 2 with wine.
The menu is the usual scallops steak guineau fowl etc and is cooked accurately though the guineau fowl though properly cooked needed a sauce to stop it being a little on the dry side.
My pudding was too doughy for what was a take on a bakewell tart.
My real reservation and hence average not very good is that for this sort of price you can go to somewhere like Little Barwick House near Yeovil and the result is a bit like Brazil v Germany!
If 3 courses were priced at say under £25 then it would be a better proposition

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tytherleigh Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Tytherleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing