We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food at the Tytherleigh”

The Tytherleigh Arms
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food at the Tytherleigh”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent food and Service , We had been let down on a Booking for Accommodation at the George in Chardstock where we had expected to eat as well and the Landlord of The Tytherleigh fitted us in at the table of Friends and we returned the following night for another meal. The Venue is warm and welcoming a great improvement from the previous owners.

We were in the Area to attend a Funeral

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie503763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    90
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westcountry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Impeccable friendly service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We live not far away and noticed other favourable reviews. What a pleasant surprise when this restaurant was even better than some reviews suggested. We had booked a table for an evening meal. There is a good sized car park. We had a friendly welcome, and the restaurant was pleasantly warm and attractively decorated. The service was impeccable with little taster platters before the meal that were a very nice touch. The food was full of flavour, the portions just right and very good value. It is nice when a menu is varied enough that you feel spoiled for choice. This is the best in the area by far.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pernickety2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After having been to a wedding in Wellington, we drove to South Chard to visit a friend, who lives very close to the Tytherleigh Arms. She had booked a table for Sunday Lunch. On arrival our friend was greeted by name, and we were made to feel very welcome: a good start. The service from start to finish was friendly and helpful.
Our friend chose halibut with cockle mash and clam veloute. However, she decided against the cockles in the mash and was unsure about the veloute, she is 91! Mark and Rosie could not have been more helpful; no problem in removing the cockles from the mash but suggested serving the veloute in a separate jug to see if she liked it. She loved the meal and is now a convert to clam veloute!
I had the belly pork, lovely and tender; memo to self must find similar recipe and cook! My partner had the bouillabaisse which he claimed to have been as good as anything he had had in France.
Our elderly friend moved on to pudding, and ordered lemon posset with berry compote. This is served with a shortbread shaped as a spoon. My partner, not having ordered a dessert thought this was great fun and decided to help in the tasting! A good experience by all accounts. I had the white chocolate parfait, which was enjoyable.
The clientele was of mixed ages, friends, young couples, and family groups the youngest being possibly under 10 (?).
This appears to be a great place, and would highly recommend. We intend to go back, this is possibly why our friend recommended it, with the intention we would see her more often!!
Lunch for three, consisting of 3 mains, 2 desserts, 1 glass of house white for our friend, a bottle of sparkling water (we were offered table water- another good touch) came to £64.00. Parking is also easy with a large car park.
It is not surprising that the restaurant looked fully booked at lunchtime today, so making a reservation may be a very good idea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank downsouth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent light lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good welcome,drink order prompt. Three ales on tap, and chose the Otter bitter. We had seafood bouillabaise from the menu, no specials board available. Service prompt and courteous. Fresh decor. We sat in the restaurant area which was very pleasant.The bouillabaise was excellent, and good value @ £10.50 per head. Large car park, accomodation available.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this Place.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This nicely presented pub is situated on the main road to Axminster. The food is not usual 'pub grub' but restaurant quality. Service was excellent, food was delicious, plenty of variation E.g. pigeon. Good sized portions and not expensive. As previous reviewer mentioned the pre meal mini taster platters are a nice touch. Highly recommended. Probably need to book.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WinnieThePooh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tytherleigh Arms also viewed

 
Chard, Somerset
 

Been to The Tytherleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing