We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devon & Dorset Border Gut Buster”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'Our 16th Century Coaching Inn commands an enviable position, conveniently situated on the main A35 where Devon & Dorset meet, between the bustling market town of Axminster, and the beautiful seaside town of Lyme Regis, the gateway to the Jurassic Coast.Neville & I along with our fantastic team, have worked very hard over the past 12 years to ensure that everyone who passes through our door can enjoy a fabulous range of home cooked traditional Pub Fayre - from sandwiches & light lunches through to super steaks sourced locally by our Butcher Duncan, from Honiton,& fresh fish from West Bay, Portland and Brixham. Come and enjoy a meal with us in clean, warm & comfortable surroundings. We offer an extensive menu with something for everyone, along with daily homemade specials and fabulous fresh homemade desserts.We have 3 separate dining areas and can cater for a total of 80 persons, or functions of up to 40 in our restaurant. We are proud of our 5 star food hygiene rating from East Devon District Council and also of our Tripadvisor reviews and seal of excellence for 2013 & 2014.We have extensive parking, are doggie friendly, and have large gardens & play area - families are most welcome.We are sure you will enjoy your visit to The Hunters Lodge and very much look forward to welcoming you!
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Weekender away camping - being lazy wanted a Restaurant with good wholesome food, good menu choice, hot and fresh veg. This Inn has it all. Super local fish from Lyme Regis, Steak from local Butcher and aged before cooking to perfection, a sweet cabinet guaranteed to give you a sugar spike and a comprehensive wine list and not too pretentious to compliment after a decent pint of Badger Ale. Booking is essential in high season as not only the grockles come here but so do the locals; has to be good (hello Gordon and Bets). Staff are attentive, nothing too much trouble and very friendly. Décor a bit dated but your not there for that. If on holiday or just local - well worth a visit or two. The owners have run the Inn for the last 11 years or so and have created a little culinary heaven. Thanks for two great nights out this weekend and on Lifeboat week as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you so much, it is always reassuring to receive such lovely feedback and to know we are on the right track! - I do hope we can welcome you again one day, kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Hunters Lodge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 475 of 707 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Been driving past this pub for years on the way to lyme and being quite local it was on my list of "I will go in one day" so today was the day and it was worth it. The food was nice, my belly pork with chives mash really was tasty.
They have a lovely garden with plenty of space and I like the fact dogs were welcome but not on the grass, probably some dog owners will disagree with me but I expect these are the guilty ones who allow their dog to foul and don't clean up.The patio area gave a great view of the garden where I could sit under the brollies, eat and watch my son play as well as have the dog shaded under my feet, great all round,thankyou

Thank southwestsampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

We are so glad you decided to stop and give us a try! - we know that so many people pass by thinking exactly the same as you did on previous occasions. We are very grateful for your review, many thanks. Hope to see you again, best wishes, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Having never eaten here before, I can say this was the most pleasant evening out I have had in a while. The staff, food and atmosphere was all great. I will definitely be recommending to family and friends and eating here myself again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Happychick1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you so much, we really do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had dinner here last Saturday evening. The food was lovely and fantastic service as well. We will be back in August as we are staying at nearby campsite again.

Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Sorry for the delay in responding - thank you for taking the time to review, it is much appreciated, we look forward to seeing you again very soon! Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were greeted straight away and seated. Happy, polite staff, food was amazing, gluten free and vegetarian options. Great atmosphere would highly recommend 'THE HUNTER'S LODGE'. Extremely friendly, fantastic service from all the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you, what a lovely review, we do appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you again, best wishes, Sarah Causley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Lodge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing