We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and helpful staff ”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: 16th Century Coaching Inn commands an enviable position, conveniently situated on the main A35 where Devon & Dorset meet, between the bustling market town of Axminster, and the beautiful seaside town of Lyme Regis, the gateway to the Jurassic Coast.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Currently eating here. The staff can not do enough to help and the food is ample and excellent. Will be sure to stop here when we are next passing. Highly recommended

Thank Wayne_McIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

We are very grateful for your review, many thanks. Best wishes, Sarah Causley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 611 of 749 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stopped at lunchtime, on 2nd Oct. Friendly, warm comfortable. Looking at the food the waitress was bringing from the kitchen, we were sorry we only had time for bar food. The food we ordered was excellent, will definitely stop here when we are next on the way to the west country.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review - I do hope we can welcome you back again next time you are passing, kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Over many years this has been our 4th visit to this restaurant, just like a good wine it gets better with age! Food is varied and more than enough to meet the most fussy of eaters. It caters well for those who are Coeliac or gluten intolerant. Prices and service were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NamasteBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review, it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First class food - first class staff - first class atmosphere

Absolutely LOVE this place - when we are in the area (which is frequently ) it is the ONLY place we eat. Always guaranteed good food and great service.

When I read such a scathing review of this place I was totally taken aback.... as my husband and I have eaten many times and could never find fault with anything the Hunters Lodge has to offer.

We never leave this place hungry or disappointed

Cant wait till Sunday to sample their beautiful roast dinner - again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kazzaw105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you, it is so kind of you to take time to leave such a lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Sarah Causley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stopped here at lunchtime on 27/9/2013 on our way home from Cornwall. Quite a few people were leaving the pub warning us not to expect food as there was a 45 minute wait.
At the bar we were again warned that there would be a considerable delay if we wanted food so we ordered just drinks.
I had a pint of Otter Ale (presumably a local brew) which was undrinkable & had a scum instead of a foaming head. I abandoned the beer after 3 or 4 sips & we left.
Later that evening had a very poorly stomach & I think I know what was to blame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Richard0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Sir, we were disappointed and slightly confused on discovering your review - you have the headline 'poor service' yet that is not the issue at all here it seems;
With reference to your comments regarding the wait on food orders - It is standard practise here to always let customers know before ordering food if there is a delay - this will be the case during busy times as all our food is cooked to order.
We consider this to actually be one of the reasons we offer good service; I am sure you would not have been happy if you had ordered a drink and food and then were left to wait 45 minutes?

Otter Ale is one of the most popular drinks we sell. It is indeed brewed locally, my husband has been and visited the brewery itself.
Last year we won 2nd place in the 'best kept cellar' award scheme (covering the whole of the south West area) - this is an independent award scheme which we were, unknowingly, nominated for, and therefore it came as a lovely surprise as you can imagine.
My husband takes great pride in his cellar. We are confident that the Otter Ale you had here would not have made you ill. The beer is never in the barrel very long - however, if it were near the end of the barrel - and from our investigations into this incident, it seems the barrel was changed Friday lunchtime - it might not have been as clear as it should have been - may I take the opportunity to apologise for this.
I would encourage you Sir, to speak up if you ever encounter this problem again - had you mentioned it to one of our girls they would have checked the barrel, changed if necessary and replaced your drink.
Unfortunately, as you did not mention anything, we have had no opportunity to amend the situation.
Sarah Causley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Lodge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing