We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to start and end a holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'Our 16th Century Coaching Inn commands an enviable position, conveniently situated on the main A35 where Devon & Dorset meet, between the bustling market town of Axminster, and the beautiful seaside town of Lyme Regis, the gateway to the Jurassic Coast.Neville & I along with our fantastic team, have worked very hard over the past 12 years to ensure that everyone who passes through our door can enjoy a fabulous range of home cooked traditional Pub Fayre - from sandwiches & light lunches through to super steaks sourced locally by our Butcher Duncan, from Honiton,& fresh fish from West Bay, Portland and Brixham. Come and enjoy a meal with us in clean, warm & comfortable surroundings. We offer an extensive menu with something for everyone, along with daily homemade specials and fabulous fresh homemade desserts.We have 3 separate dining areas and can cater for a total of 80 persons, or functions of up to 40 in our restaurant. We are proud of our 5 star food hygiene rating from East Devon District Council and also of our Tripadvisor reviews and seal of excellence for 2013 & 2014.We have extensive parking, are doggie friendly, and have large gardens & play area - families are most welcome.We are sure you will enjoy your visit to The Hunters Lodge and very much look forward to welcoming you!
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great way to start and end a holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stopped here for the last 3 years on the way and on the way back from holiday....Great welcome by the staff... Excellent food ham,egg and chips are amazing.... All 8 of us had great food and we all think the prices are reasonable for the amount if food u receive and we all enjoyed the pool table and the dart board..... This year extra points as we could take our new puppy Lola in with us.... She was very welcomed by the staff and was very well behaved.....

I will just say to the people who wrote should of realised by the empty car park not to go in.....the car park was empty when we went in but still had an excellent meal and a very warm welcome.... So come on people judge by the inside not what's happening outside....

Thanks will c u next Apil the Williams, Bowles and Clelland family's

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolamegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, we are very grateful, and always feel so lucky that we have such lovely customers - and that all the dogs that visit are so well behaved. We look forward to welcoming you and Lola again next Spring. Best wishes to you all, Sarah Causley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    147
    31
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every respect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a Birthday meal for my wife, so we all went (Me, my wife and our 2 children ages 13 and 10)
We looked at the menu, and, frankly, I was overwhelmed at the choices available. In the end 3 of us went for the roast dinner, from a choice of 3 meats, and our 10 year old son went for the Pizza and chips.
When the food was served, it was piping hot and presented beautifully, the vegetables were not overcooked as is so often the case. When he had finished the main meal, there was not a scrap left on our plates, a rare occurrence.
The puddings are a different story entirely, they just raised the bar even higher. There was a large choice of puddings, all freshly prepared and you get a choice of cream,ice cream or custard with them (you can even have all three!)
The service is fast, good and friendly. I am given to understand that this is a family run pub, anf is all the better for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill-Lewsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
What a fabulous review! thank you so much.
We are so pleased you chose us for your special occasion. We do look forward to welcoming you all again very soon, thank you again, Best wishes, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went here for lunch for the first time on Sunday, I was not disappointed. The choice of food was brilliant, we ordered the sunday roast, with a choice of 3 meats to choose from. The main course was lovely. Now let me tell you about the puddings, there were lots of great dishes to choose from, all looking very tempting, it was very hard to decide. We all ordered something different. They came with a choice of ice cream, clotted cream or pouring cream. I have to say the pudding was divine. I do however suggest you wear something loose fitting as the portions sizes are very generous. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
What can I say, other than thank you - thank you so much, what a lovely review. I hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you all back again to the Hunters Lodge. Kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Service was prompt and staff were friendly. Food was good and was hot. We went in at 6-30 when they had just started doing food, so got served straight away. Drinks can be expensive. It is on the A35 so handy for travellers between Dorset and East Devon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, it is really most appreciated.
We have worked extremely hard over the past 10 years are proud to be compared alongside the best of our local pubs and eateries, this, despite the fact we are not a Gastro Pub as many of the others are, and, sadly, we are also not a freehouse (a little known fact to most who visit)
We try to serve fresh locally sourced produce with fish from the Lyme Bay & meat from local farms, we pride ourselves in good home cooked traditional fayre, and, despite, frustratingly, having to pay almost twice as much for our beer as our neighbouring freehouses we try to keep our prices in line with the local competition.
We are currently saving our pennies...as we would love to eventually buy the freehold of our lovely pub - when we do, you can be assured we will strive to have the cheapest beer in the area.
I hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Sarah Causley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My father and I came to this pub when visiting Axminster as it was just down the road from his new home. Today we visited Devon to collect the keys and measure up, and the food we had here at Hunters Lodge was an excellent addition to our day.
Knowing that we were getting pub food, what we got was so much more - value for money, well cooked fresh food and a very tasty filling meal.
My father is certainly looking forward to living in Axminster as this pub will please this grumpy old man!
Friendly service and good atmosphere

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review it is most appreciated.
We are really looking forward to welcoming your father again now he is living in the area - please be sure to tell him not to be shy! - he is always welcome whether with friends or family, or on his own, there will always be someone here he can chat to even if he just wants to pop in for a coffee. Kind regards, Sarah Causley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Lodge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing