We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fan bloody tastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'Our 16th Century Coaching Inn commands an enviable position, conveniently situated on the main A35 where Devon & Dorset meet, between the bustling market town of Axminster, and the beautiful seaside town of Lyme Regis, the gateway to the Jurassic Coast.Neville & I along with our fantastic team, have worked very hard over the past 12 years to ensure that everyone who passes through our door can enjoy a fabulous range of home cooked traditional Pub Fayre - from sandwiches & light lunches through to super steaks sourced locally by our Butcher Duncan, from Honiton,& fresh fish from West Bay, Portland and Brixham. Come and enjoy a meal with us in clean, warm & comfortable surroundings. We offer an extensive menu with something for everyone, along with daily homemade specials and fabulous fresh homemade desserts.We have 3 separate dining areas and can cater for a total of 80 persons, or functions of up to 40 in our restaurant. We are proud of our 5 star food hygiene rating from East Devon District Council and also of our Tripadvisor reviews and seal of excellence for 2013 & 2014.We have extensive parking, are doggie friendly, and have large gardens & play area - families are most welcome.We are sure you will enjoy your visit to The Hunters Lodge and very much look forward to welcoming you!
1 review
“Fan bloody tastic”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a pleasure it was to find this place neville was unbelievably helpfull allowing us to stop in our motorhomes in his car park had a meal on saturday evening first time i tried scallops and wow fantastic if your down this way make it a priority to have a meal at the Hunters Lodgr inn we will be back as often as we can
many thanks to neville and sarah for their hospitality and friendliness
regards jeff and deb lewis from Wales

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank codfather5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for takling the time to review, we are most grateful. We hope you will call in again (or stop over!) next time you are touring in your motorhomes, best wishes, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    147
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food fantastic .”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here there was 5 of us and the standard of service and food was first class. Our drinks order was taken at the table so we could sit and relax. The staff are all very pleasant. Would recommend a visit. The food and service is always of a very high standard. Even fresh fruit was offered as an alternative sweet for one of our party that was diabetic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddington44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. We are always pleased to welcome you and your family, and look forward to seeing you again soon, kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely meal in a lovely pub restaurant.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate here on our first night away. Lovely spacious pub. Friendly staff. Warm and cosy. Lovely menu. We had the butchers meatballs and it was huge. I could not eat all of it. Very nicely cooked. You can eat in the restaurant or bar area. Would definitely go back if we were in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, it is much appreciated. We work really hard to ensure everyone who visits us leaves with the same impression as yourselves, and to receive such lovely comments really does make it all worthwhile. I hope we can welcome you again should you visit the area in the future. Kind regards, Sarah Causley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stop and visit here on route to and from our holiday in Cornwall, we love it and have recommended it to friends doing the same journey.
The food is excellent and everyone who works there are exceptionally friendly.
We will be visiting again in a few weeks when we pass again and can't wait.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough, everyone should go there x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! we really do appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next travelling, kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations twice!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have eaten here twice with family and both times the food has been excellent, and the service has been warm and welcoming. Will be back many times in the future, possibly this month. Keep up the good work

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much! we are really very grateful for your review and look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Best wishes, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Lodge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing