We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Friendly Inn”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 16th Century Coaching Inn commands an enviable position, conveniently situated on the main A35 where Devon & Dorset meet, between the bustling market town of Axminster, and the beautiful seaside town of Lyme Regis, the gateway to the Jurassic Coast.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Decided to go for a meal here on the spur of the moment with my hubby and 2 kids.. were told the food may take a while as it was a busy saturday night.. that was fine with us.. at least she had the courtesy to mention it..

service was great and the food.. was lovely.. I had NY chicken.. chicken breast with bacon and cheese in a lovely bbq sauce.. chips and salad.. chicken was succulant.. chips hot and plentiful and salad delicious.. with celery diced cucumber cherry tomatoes.. onion grapes and apple.. and leaves.. my hubby had scampi chips and sald.. and my 2 kids had pizza and chips ans southern fried chicken new potatoes and veg..from the childrens menu all nicely presented..made room for desserts.. I had toffee pavlova and hubby had banoffee pie.. we gave eachother half of the pudding.. so we got to taste them both... delicious and beautifully presented.. I love it when they decorate the plate with chocolate sauce..the kids had brownies and cream ice cream,which they enjoyed.. when they bought the bill it came with 4 chocolates.. a lovely touch..

Overall I thought the dining room was nicely decorated.. the service was fast and friendly.. and the wait for food wasnt too long. and we didnt feel rushed..great choice of meals.. which include chicken dishes pork lamb fish pasta dishes and steak.. I think the owners have done a fantastic job.. and we will return.. .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angelcake71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We were really touched by your review, thank you so much.
We are very passionate about our pub - and very rarely have holidays/days off as a family, however, on the day you visited my husband and I had taken our children camping for the night and, even tho' we know our lovely staff are more than able to cope without us, we wouldn't help but still be a little apprehensive. - Your review made our day, and confirmed to us what a great team we have here - I am going to pass copies of your review onto each staff member. I do hope we can welcome you again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 755 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Large car park, outside seating area near garden and play area for children. Very welcoming staff, plenty of tables, lovely atmosphere. On holiday, we took previous trip advisor feedback and decided to try this pub. Very nice decor, the outside is currently being painted. The menu was varied, some of it a bit pricey. Four of us chose Hunter's Chicken - chicken with white wine and mushroom sauce, and New York Chicken - chicken with bacon, cheese and barbecue sauce. We chose veg and chips, included in the price. Everything was cooked to order, large portions of beautifully cooked meat with large portions of chips and veg in dishes so you could help yourself. Veg was a nice selection of broccoli, green beans, carrots and leeks. Having eyed up the desserts board, we were quite full after the large portions, but the waitress offered us half portions of desserts. This was perfect, and we had profiteroles. Lovely, friendly staff, atmosphere and good food. I'd recommend this pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LammyPie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we really do apreciate it, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future - and hopefully the scaffolding will be down and the outside will look as nice as the inside! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A truly family friendly and welcoming place to dine, excellent food and a varied selection , Staff extremely helpful and friendly.
Reccomebd highly for lunch and dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank postdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! I hope we can look forward to welcoming you again soon, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were staying near Charmouth for 2 nights last week with our two small dogs and were trying with difficulty, to find somewhere to have an evening meal on the Friday evening when we drove passed the Hunters Lodge and decided to call in. The pub was busy but spacious and the lady serving was very friendly. They were happy to have the dogs in the pub, and advised us that as they were so busy there would be a bit of a wait. We were comfortable in the pub so decided to order and were very pleased when the food came sooner that anticipated. The food was delicious, and they even sold dog biscuits on the bar to keep our pets happy! All the staff were very helpful and friendly, and we were very pleased that we had found this lovely pub. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank antandjulieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah c, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us! we are really glad you and your doggie friends enjoyed your visit and hope that we will be able to welcome you again when you are next in the area! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Excellent quality food. Large portions. Well cooked. Good cellar. Good value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnHHertfprdshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - it is very much appreciated. We are on a mission to achieve 5 stars! - so we will not rest on our laurels and will keep trying to improve! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Lodge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing