We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay in comfortable, well equipped...”

Review of Mannings Cottage

Outside of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside of Cottage
Lounge Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Outside of Cottage
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom - Ground Floor
Lounge
Double Bedroom - Ground Floor
Twin or Double Bedroom - First Floor
Twin or Double Bedroom - First Floor
Single Room - First Floor
Single Room - First Floor
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dining Room from Outside
Outside of Cottage
Outside Dining Area
Private Garden - Lower
Private Garden - Upper
The Neighbours
Stockland Village
Views on the Footpaths around Stockland
Lyme Regis Harbour and Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Axminster, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark B
1 review
“Excellent stay in comfortable, well equipped, spacious cottage”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

Village location, near Axminster, Honiton and Chard, ideal for exploring East Devon and Dorset coast and Somerset countryside. The cottage was clean, very well equipped and comfortable for a group of four. The owner provided helpful information prior to our visit and there was plenty of other useful information available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed March 30, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Just come back from a really lovely holiday with our 4 children. Mannings cottage was very pleasant, clean, tidy, very well equipped and very peaceful and quiet. The owners Diana and Julian were very approachable and really friendly. We arrrived to some lovely muffins which we enjoyed with a cup of tea after our journey down. Mannings cottage is a great base to visit numerous places. We enjoyed some days out at Lyme Regis, Seaton, Sidmouth, Exmouth and more. The children had such a great time and we will definitely be back. Thank you for such a lovely holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wendymR46...
Polis, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The accommodation was of the highest standard”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We enjoyed a private stay in a cottage with new furnishings. We were able to use the kitchen and all utensils as if we were at home. The bedrooms were fresh and welcoming. The sitting room with log fire topped the list. Diana Saso welcomed us and gave the very best guide to the local inns and restaurants. All together an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M
2 reviews
“A fabulous holiday home in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely holiday in this picturesque part of the country. The cottage was a perfect based for lots of family days out. The cottage was beautifully presented and very clean. Diana was very welcoming and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky D
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Stars - not enough to review this holiday!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have had the most relaxing and enjoyable week. Diana has been the perfect host from the moment I booked the cottage for our holiday!! We were given all the information to ensure that we could make the most of our holiday!! The cottage is absolutely beautiful, comfy beds, old fashioned wood beams, comfy sofa's and a large garden as well as a relaxing conservatory/dinning room!! The cottage really has a cosy yet spacious feel!! All the amenities that you need for cooking at home!! Some fabulous pubs and restaurants within relative short distance to drive! Would most definitely recommend Tucker Arms at Dalwood and The Holt in Honiton. Beautiful hilly walks in the immediate vicinity of the cottage! Diana's homemade baking was certainly a nice little treat!! Chocolate brownies were scrummy! A first time holiday to Devon for my mum, my daughter and I has left us not wanting to go home!! Thank you Diana!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackals20...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect cottage for a young family”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in Mannings Cottage for a weekend over the May bank holiday, and we absolutely loved it. The cottage was really well equipped for a young family, our children loved the toy cupboard! The kitchen had everything you could need for a break away from home and the bathroom had some nice extra touches like a step for the little ones to reach the basin. Lovely comfy beds. Diana was so welcoming and friendly, and we didn't feel uncomfortable knocking to ask a question!

We visited both Diggerland and Crealy Adventure Park during our stay, both of which were less than an hour drive away. The local Ferne animal sanctuary is also well worth a visit, with some lovely walks, animals and outdoor climbing equipment to keep the little ones amused. The Cafe is friendly and reasonably priced too.

Overall, if we returned to this area, we would definitely choose Mannings Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing