We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of Route 66

Route 66
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

One of the best meals we have had for a while, owner was lovely and the food was authentic and freshly made, no frozen burgers or chicken wings here, freshly made and delicious. Try the shakes, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
route66axminster, Owner at Route 66, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for the review. Happy to hear you liked it here, especially the milkshakes.
Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    39
    14
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coelbren, Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Breakfast in America”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This diner is located on the main street in Axminster, Devon. Run by an American couple, the food had a distinctively American feel to it. Breakfast was served alongside lunch as it was about 12md. Both breakfasts and lunches were extremely good with excellent variety on offer. A very nice meal was had by all, thank you. The service was excellent also, with compliments to the female owner who served us throughout. Will definitely call again should we be in the area.
P.S. - Ask for the sween onion sauce which is made on the premises. Delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
route66axminster, Owner at Route 66, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed it here.
Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST diner in the area.... by a country mile. YEEHA!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We run a local caravan site and come to eat here as often as possible, on special, romantic dates, with the kids, with friends for birthdays and for our beginning and end of year staff meals... because it truly is AMAZING!!
The burgers are EXACTLY like the ones found in the best diners across the USA particularly TEXAS! How Gina and Kirk rustle up such amazingly authentic, tasty and gut busting meals, using British ingredients is beyond me! Oh, did I mention their thickshakes? OMG! My daughter demands to come here as often as possible, just for the Oreo thickshakes, and the Honeycombe and the Reeses (Peanut butter) thickshakes....they are totally AWESOME!! You won`t get shakes like them anywhere else on this side of the pond.
That goes for the food too...from the breakfast pancakes with syrup to their evening `Classic American` Meatloaf...it`s mindblowing & mouthwatering.......and it really will bust yer gut. YEEHA! Buckle up partners...Go there, or go hungry!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RacoonTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
route66axminster, Owner at Route 66, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi guys. Thanks for your review, these kind of honest comments really help our business to thrive and keeps everyone in jobs when the economy itself is not doing too good. Always a pleasure to see you here and we enjoy cooking and hosting for you just as much as you are happy to have the Route 66 Experience.
Cheers
Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Veggie burger ever”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We decided to try out Route 66 on our girly mini break in Devon this past weekend.

The restaurant serves various american style food options and drinks including icecream floats.

We were greeted by a lovely waitress (I believe she is also the owner) who made us feel very welcome and was happy to accomadate our group of 6. As soon as they realised we were all eating vegetarian we were offered addittional options from the dinner menu and given recommendations on what we may like to try. This addittional effort and personal touch was really appreciated. I was even offered a choice of hot sauces to go with my meal, as a chilli lover this delighted me!

Between us we ordered a fair variety from the menu and everyone thoroughly enjoyed thier meal and deserts.

The decor in the restaurant is brilliant and truly unique.

Route 66 really set our weekend off to a brilliant start and we would whole heartdly recommend Route 66 to anyone looking for great food in Axminister.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supertripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
route66axminster, Owner at Route 66, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate the positive feedback and our so happy tou enjoyed your time here and was happy with Gina who served you. Glad also you liked the decor, keeps things that little bit more intreresting.
I hope your girly weekend was a success.
Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Forget River Cottage, go here instead”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We found Route 66 by pure chance and decided to give it a go since my partner saw corn dogs on the menu, and they can't be found anywhere in the UK! It's only a couple of doors down from the River Cottage canteen, and it's the real deal - proper US comfort food owned by a proper friendly Texan lady.

Although the corn dogs were only on the kid's menu, the owner was happy to make it up to a full portion, and it was excellent. so were the fries, and my chilli nachos were marvellous, best chilli EVER. There's lots of memorabilia on the walls and even copies of that great institution, the 'National Enquirer' to leaf through!

I couldn't quite believe that Route 66 was nearly empty, whilst River Cottage was almost full. I guess that shows the power of TV hype. I've haven't eaten at River Cottage, but it's half as good as Route 66, I'll be amazed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyMCambs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
route66axminster, Owner at Route 66, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your well-written, informative and positive review.
So glad you found us and decided to check us out. We open from 9 to 9 and sometimes we are so busy we don't get much time for interaction with those guests who want a chat. I'm glad that Gina had the opportunity to look after you and that you enjoyed the corn dogs, with ketchup and American mustard I hope.
Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 also viewed

 

Been to Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing