We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential Switzerland Choclate Experience”

Maison Cailler Chocolaterie
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.45*
and up
Gruyere Day Trip with Chocolate Factory and visit of a Medievial Village
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Broc
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quintessential Switzerland Choclate Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have lived in Switzerland for two years and finally made it to Broc to visit the home of Callier chocolate, dont let the Nestle name scare you off for a 'corporate' brand, you get the full Swiss Chocolate experience. yes, there is a movie/theatrical experience describing the history of chocolate and how Callier was founded, but their slogan Pure Emotion, Pure Chocolat fits. A great family experience and of course free chocolate tasting :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    427
    104
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chocolate is good for the soul...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was awesome. You travel through time from the Mayas who used to drink the chocolate to the Swiss technique of chocolate making.

You get to see how they make the chocolate, and (!!!) eat it at the end. Every single cailller's chocolate produced. I suggest to start by the end, where the best chocolate is...then you get to shop directly from the factory. If you like a certain bar, make sure you get the deals (packs of 5) are way cheaper than picking one by one...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abdelrahman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Chocolate in Gruyere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Who would have thought? Chocolate in Switzerland seems so..usual, today. Yet, a chocolate factory in the middle of cow pasture at the foot of the Swiss Alps is all but 'normal'.
About an hour's nice and well-made visit for a grand finale at the Cailler store, of course.
The house has a historic feel and lends itself easily to fairy-tale like chocolate factory vibz, if you forget there's a huge Nestle entreprise right next to it.
It is a good side-trip to Gruyere and tastes just as good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueetMarylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth the time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I decided to drive over to this Chocolate factory while we were staying in Evian les Baines, France. Caillier puts on a great tour and at the end of the tour you literally can eat as much chocolate as you want. Nobody ends up eating that much because it is so sweet. Well worth the short drive and well worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JetNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So worthwhile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Broc for the chocolate tour on a Saturday afternoon. It was very busy..a one hour wait, but we decided it was worth it. We got our reservation, then went down the road to the outlet store by the train station. We got a few bars of chocolate there, but some of the deals at the factory itself were decent. The tour was really different and cool, going over the history of chocolate from the beginning.

Then the tasting. Wow. I couldn't try one square of each kind of chocolate in the tasting room. It was just too much! So good! It was really great to taste before buying, too! Overall, we found it really fun and a great little destination!

Helpful?
Thank rsolsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Cailler Chocolaterie also viewed

 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Maison Cailler Chocolaterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing