We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Avra Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avra Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

No negatives at all. If you want simple, extremely clean lodgings near the beach, a great beach with fabulous views, chose the Avra. A 5 minute walk to the harbour but it was too busy for us so we ate a few times at the hotel taverna on the beach. As good as any other taverna we tried. One good tip.....facing the sea turn left along the beach about ten metres and you come to the Christina taverna....we ate here for lunch on our last day and the food was delicious. Hire a car and go to Sivota and Vasillikas...lovely little places to visit for lunch..a perfect holiday. We will definitely be going back..

Room Tip: There are two or three sea view rooms, book if you can, worth the extra. The other rooms face a park...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scoop29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Avra Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is family run,it is ideally situated just a few yards to the beach with excellent views and just a few minues stroll to the town.The hotel was spotlessly clean,the rooms were cleaned daily and the towels and sheets changed regularly.The shower delivered a plentiful supply of hot water at a good pressureThe rooms are very functional but there is a fridge and a room safe can be hired for the week.The breakfast consisted of a choice of cereals,yoghurt and the usual choice of cold meats and cheese and a boiled eggs.We had a couple of lunches here and the food was good.We were not due to fly until the evening but the hotel allowed us to keep the room after the official checkout time of 12pm until 4pm which was much appreciated and made our final day that bit more enjoyable.The hotel is as been said before quite basic but excellent value and the staff will make your stay as pleasant and relaxed as they can

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maddensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just arrived back from the last week of the season and I had an amazing time. Booked as a package with ocean elements and I can't fault the value for money as it included hotel, flights and water sport tuition. Spent the the week windsurfing and cycling.

The hotel it's self is basic but the room was spotlessly clean with fresh white decor just what was needed for the price. The shower was hot and had good pressure.

By far the best thing is the location stunning views of sea, islands and mountains and a relaxed feel. All the staff where helpful and friendly. The surrounding little town is a short walk and offers plenty of restaurants we ate somewhere different every night and didn't have a bad meal. I recommend the restaurant with no menu where the chief / owner keeps bringing dishes out until you say stop. Excellent. Also the Paramount was really good food.

The only thing that really let's this hotel down is the poor breakfast choice. No hot food and tinned fruit which is crazy considering the availability of fresh fruit here.

Definitely worth a stay and I recommend booking with ocean elements as you will have a fab time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank k1ckass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location, you can have breakfast overlooking the sea, then just walk into the sea for a swim. The town is close by with great places to eat out and lots of shops and supermarkets. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean, towels and sheets are changed very regularly . Breakfasts have all you could want but not any hot food, but plenty of everything else and we hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank naki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Avra as part of an Ocean Elements package it was ideally located for both their facilities and the town centre and port.
Whilst a basic hotel it was comfortable, clean with a fairly standard but plentiful continental breakfast. If I had a gripe it would have been nice to have more fresh fruit and a different style of egg each morning. That said there was a nearby supermarket if needed.
Overall well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheReferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday with Ocean Elements and stayed in this great little family run hotel that is in a fantastic location right by the beach. It was quite basic but all we wanted to do was sleep in the rooms so not an issue at all. More importantly, the staff were lovely, it was spotlessly clean, it had air conditioning in all the rooms and the breakfast, (which you could eat outside by the beach) was really good - plenty of choice including fresh local fruit, yoghut and honey, which I loved, as well as cereals, ham, cheese, eggs, bread etc. We also ate in the taverna a couple of times and the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic spot - literally beside the sea, but the sea is so tranquil it is more like a large lake. I never tired of the views of the surrounding mountains and islands. Very clean, tidy and well run family hotel. The bedrooms are all marble so can appear sparse, but more practical in the heat. Showers excellent. Two very small gripes - tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms would be welcome, and the breakfast, which is ample, would benefit from something warm, like scrambled egg, bacon maybe. This did not bother me much, but I did hear a few people mumbling about it. We really enjoyed our stay in the Avra and would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#11 of 14 in Nidri
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
184 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Konaki
Hotel Konaki
#3 of 7 in Lygia
125 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Beach Hotel

Address: Nidri Lefkada, Nidri 31084, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nidri
Price Range: $53 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avra Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run business Avra Beach offers all the comforts for a pleasant and relaxing accommodation near the sea. Free Wi-Fi and internet corner, safety box, silent A/C,mosquito nets on the windows, telephone,hair dryer, ceiling fan, mini fridge and a balcony on every room. Built in a peaceful location right on the beach with a beautiful spacius garden with plane trees, away from the traffic and just in front of the village's beach, Avra beach invites you to enjoy the cool and calm breeze of the sea, with a view to the islands of Scorpios and Madouri, (the privately owned islands of the late ship magnate Aristotle Onassis and the poet Aristotle Valaoritis respectively). A private free parking space for all the customers offers additional safety for your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Avra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Beach Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing