We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oscar Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$54
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athos Hotel(Nidri)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G. George(Nidri)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
10
6
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
6
3
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 23 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We had a really lovely holiday again in Nidri, at the Oscar .We stayed there 2 years before and as before everybody treated us like we were one of the family.We cannot wait to go back again as we call it our little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cliffandsheila45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

The hotel rooms are small and basic, the beds were not particularly comfortable (my personal preference for a softer bed) and the showers flooded the floor (very inconsistent water pressure but a fact of life in Greece!!). I would suggest requesting a room change on arrival if you back on to the main road as this is very busy though the night and the bin men arrive at 5am every morning.

The air-conditioning was relatively cheap (4.5 euros per unit, per day) and definitely worth having. The room had been cleaned very well on arrival and the miad service was good and often.

The pool and pool area are too small, however you can use other pools in the area (just charged for sunbeds)

Contrary to some other reviews we found the breakfast selection poor and had far better evening meals in other restaurants in Nidri - again personal preference as we noticed some took all their meals at the Hotel.

Having stayed in many hotels on balance the Hotel Oscar does not warrant a 3* rating due to the standard of accommodation itself (I would be more unhappy if I had paid full price) however it is not all bad the additional benifits of ac, fridge and central location all work in the hotel's favour.

In Nidri you could spend a fortnight trying a different restuarant everynight. Except for one restaurant (serving Chinese and Indian) all restuarants have Greek and Italian menus, these are extensive and should suit all tastes. There are various bars, but no discos/busy nightlife. The tourists are mainly Greek and Italian which made for a nice laid back atmosphere.

There is the main stretch of restuarants overlooking the water front, this drag eventually leads to a shingle beach (water sports available and sun longers are 3 euros each). Running parrallel to this drag is the main road, home to a vast array of small shops and yet more restuarants. This road is very busy and there is no pavaement, so not great if you have small children/push chairs.

Various boat trips are available where you can visit Kefalonia, Meganissi, Ithaka, Scorpios...etc

Overall Lefkas is a picturesque island with warm people and great food - but unless you got a real bargain maybe avoid the Oscar

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Una123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kendal, Cumbria, England
131
Reviewed July 26, 2005

I think this is a brilliant hotel. We stayed there for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute of our time there. Am hoping to go again soon. The food at their cafe was delicious and the staff there were extremely friendly. The Rooms were brilliant with comfy beds and the room was very clean when we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2005

Had agreat time oscar hotel aug 04 stayed a week (family of 4) after a 15 hour delay getting here. Small and friendly hotel customers made us welcome as soon as we arrived and by the end of the week we knew everyone by name. Rooms were basic but clean and had a small fridge. The staff friendly and breakfast (continental) good. The pool was not to large but large enough to take everyone and it was half empty most of the time. It was a nice surprise to be near water front and the views of the mountains around us were fab. nice pool bar and we were in walking distance of everything. I have been to a few places in greece and can say this was the best. The old flame restauraunt served the best greek food we have ever eaten (found on the water front.) we never had a bad meal all week everything cooked fresh. A bit far from the beach which was narrow but cheap ferry ride to beaches where we could snorkle. I would definately return here. Thomas the waiter at the hotel loved the kids and they could wrap him around their fingers. road behind a little rough for pushchairs but had a great holiday. We would return.

68  Thank caznsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews