We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“George Hotel Nidri. 30/6/13-14/07/13” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartments George
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
Mayland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“George Hotel Nidri. 30/6/13-14/07/13”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the George Hotel Nidri. The Hotel is very clean and you can have clean towels everyday if you need them. There is however, very limited cupboard and drawer space for your clothes. The staff are very friendly and helpful although the only time I spoke to Maria was when I handed our room keys in on departure! The breakfast is very basic, the same everyday and no choice of cereal or Greek yoghurt, but filled a gap. The hotel is situated 5 min walk from the busy Main Street, and this is enough to make it very peaceful and just far enough away from the bars and nightclubs. The beach is quite narrow and pebbly but has everything you need and only a 10min flat walk away, as is the harbour and tavernas. You are spoilt for choice with eating places and they all try for your custom, once you have eaten there though you are then their friends! Our favourite on the harbour was Roots, first on the left as you turn into the port, fantastic value, friendly staff and perfect food! Also the Apollon, a little further along, exceeded our expectations. If you like the traditional Greek, take the turning off the main road opposite the church and go to Fantastica, it's a family run taverna, with a lovely elderly Greek lady welcoming you as soon as you arrive. This is fantastic value for money and outstanding food, especially the breakfast special omelette! This is what Greece is all about. There a lots of boat trips to keep you occupied and also just to the right of the hotel, and a pleasant 45min flat walk will take you to the stunning waterfall, well worth a visit. Don't forget to have a drink in the taverna at the bottom when you leave, it's well worth it. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind, and we spent many an afternoon/evening at the 'la minute' bar people watching, and watching the boats returning from their day trips. Perfect!

Room Tip: We had the first room at the front and our balcony was lovey and cool on our return each day, didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoraCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
86
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay in the George Hotel in Nidri. We had a lovely holiday here and the hotel was very accomodating in the beginning due to a mix up or misinterpretation with our rooms during booking but it was quickly sorted out. Although the rooms were very clean, we found them small and with very little cupboard space in which to put your belongings and this made the room look untidy as my husband's shorts and T shirts had to be draped over the settee in the room. Also the bed was hard and the pillows even harder which didn't constitute to a good night's sleep! The towels and sheets were changed every few days, which was nice and the pool area was kept very clean. The breakfast was basic and it would have been nice to have a bit more choice....greek yogurt etc. but if you wanted this you had to pay. Maria the owner is supposed to be a "bit of a character" but we saw little of her and she did not welcome us in at reception on arrival and only saw her fleetingly during the two weeks, it would have been nice to have seen more of her. However, the real star of the hotel is Billo, Maria's dog, who more than made up for friendliness and was a real sweetie...if you are going here on holiday, please give her a kiss from me!!!
Nidiri harbour is buzzing and you will be spoilt for choice whilst eating out here. Our favourite restaurants were Appollon and Roots whose staff and food was "top notch", please check them out.
If you want a cheaper meal, home cooked and value for money visit Fantastica which is just off the main street (road opposite the church) for 11.90 Euros you get two courses and wine and plenty off it. We also tried their english breakfast which was great value for money (5 euros) and all freshly cooked. However, if you just want to chill and watch the world go by their are a lot of bars to choose from along the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squidders_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just returned from the most fantastic holiday at Hotel George ( such genuine friendliness from everyone especially from Khalid) What a Gem. There really isn't much more to add, this small family run hotel welcoming, clean and attention to detail to make all the visitors stay as comfortable as possible is overwhelming.
From the minute you arrive right up to the minute you depart you are looked after by a wonderful family and excellent staff. Nothing is too much trouble and you cannot notice that there only consideration is to make their guests happy and comfortable. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. the cleaners attend every day and are magnificent. Fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt homemade pastries and marmalade for breakfast or full English if you prefer, breakfast is the perfect way to start the day. Dinner every evening you can choose from the ‘’Specials’’ ( i recommend) or the a-la-carte ( i also recommend). Next time we go to G.George we will dine at the hotel every night the food is just fantastic, you won’t eat better, our only regret this holiday was twice we decided to dine outside the hotel - mistake.
Entertainment - friendly, good fun and enjoyable! Maria is a perfect host

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johanna_boerboom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here the last two weeks of June 2013 and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The pool was cleaned every morning and the lovely harbour area a short, flat walk away. Great value. Helen & Tom

Room Tip: Front balconies are shadier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 343Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

stayed here last 2 weeks in june, a very clean pleasant place to stay 1 min walk to main street/harbour area, good clean room with fridge and kettle, cleaned every day, pool area good with garden area with sunbeds. all the staff pleasant and friendly. one poor point is the breakfast very limited only corn flakes,bread,cheese and meat, no greek yogurt/fruit unless you paid extra. the extra menu had a lot of choice if you like paying extra for breakfast. as it was touching 100 our 1st week we had to have air-con but at 8 euro a day it was not cheap

Room Tip: if you don't like full afternoon evening sun a room on the front looking onto pool is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neila82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

First time in Nidri and so pleased we went to the George. We stayed B & B. Excellent position in quiet area but just a short walk from the main street with shops, tavernas, harbour etc. My husband has an allegy to gluten (can't eat anything with flour in it) and Maria and staff were extremely helpful with this and prepared to cook food if we wanted, very kind. Hotel is very clean, big beds (slept so well we had trouble getting down for breakfast!)and clean towels every day which was appreciated. Buffet breakfast provided which can be supplemented with a variety of other dishes if you wish. Attractive pool area. So if you want a comfortable clean and central base for exploring Lefkada which is a lovely island (never seen so many butterflies) go and see Maria and staff at the George! Don't forget the factor 30!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a small holding and trees with a view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We only stayed for the one night on our way to Sail Ionian (see another review for THE best sailing holiday !), but were made to feel really at home, despite arriving late and exhausted from a 5 hour drive. The rooms are spacious and airy with comfy, large beds. The only downside for us was being savaged in the night by a squadron of mosquitos! (In our tired stupour, we'd not realised that the room window was open!)

Breakfast was a buffet, but we were also offered eggs anyway we liked them and bacon, if we wished!

Maria was wonderful with her help in ensuring that our lost luggage had been tracked and was going to be meeting us at some point on the boat!

Everyone treats you as if it was your hundredth time there, not the first!

Room Tip: Whatever room you have, make sure the windows are shut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 16 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.5 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#4 of 16 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 11 in Nikiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments George

Property: Apartments George
Address: Valaoritou Str 8, Nidri 31087, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments George 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apartments George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g George Aparthotel Nidri
Apartments George Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing