We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and a great welcome”
Review of Apartments George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments George
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel was lovely. The rooms were quiet big and were well appointed. We had a balcony which looked over the mountains which was great.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming, Maria the owner was a great laugh.
The breakfast had a good selection of fruit, bread, cheeses, juices and cereal.
The hotel is situated a c ouple of minutes wlak from the fantastic marina where there are lots of tavernas and restuarnats to statisfy all.

Hope to be back

Mike

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeStockport42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Apartments George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed in the George hotel for one week and had a very pleasant time. It's located 5 minutes walking from the main street and 10 minutes from the beach or harbour.
Our room was at the backside and overlooked the mountains, which we loved. It had everything we needed: the beds were good, we had a large balcony, and there was a small fridge we used every day. The bathroom was pretty small, the door could not even be completely opened. Everything was clean (except some strange spots on the bathroom door) and towels were changed every day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A complaint about a loose and noisy shutter was solved the same day. Breakfast was great too, hot and cold, it varied every day; very extensive for greek standards. The fruit with yoghurt was my favourite. There were so many choices that I didn't understand other people that kept ordering different stuff. We also had dinner a couple of times in the restaurant, and the food is excellent.
The pool is pretty large and there's also a garden; you can use the beds and umbrella's. Aircondition costs 7 euro's per day, which we used and were glad we did. Safety box is also provided in the room, at 15 euro's for one week. Wifi is also not free, which was a pity.
Would we come back to this hotel: yes!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Just returned from a week long stay at The George. Found accommodation to be excellent with balcony overlooking the pool - majic! We had no problem with noise from the bar area & appreciated that our balcony was in the shade for most of the afternoon. The room was spotlessly clean & maid service excellent.

I agree that 7 euros a night for air con is extortionate - but its optional - you decide.

Breakfast was very good with lots of choice from freshly cooked bacon & eggs to cold meats & cheeses, cereals, toast, honey & local jams too. My favourites were the tiny sugared doughnuts or fresh fruit & yoghurt.

The pool area was pretty with lots of loungers & parasols. Great way to laze away the afternoon when the temperature gets too high.

Would love to return - but sadly was unimpressed with Nidri itself. Difficult to get about by public transport & the 'main drag' through town becomes tiresome after a while - too touristy for us really.

If you do visit - enjoy as we did - but a week, for us, was enough.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with pool view. Excellent
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulineandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I have just spent 2 weeks at the George. we had a room at the back, with a lovely view of the mountains. I agree with the previous post that this is the better location.
The rooms were fine, and were always very clean as was the bathroom.

The only issue regarding the rooms was noise echoed. We had a family who occupied 3 rooms adjacent to ours in the 2nd week. We heard every door open and shut and most of the loud conversations. So there was no chance of a quick afternoon nap.

I thought 7 euros a day for air con was a rip off, and did without.

Breakfast was fine, eggs yoghart cereals fruits ham and cheese, friendly staff

The pools was very nice, and you could either sit there, or in the gardens behind.

Overall I would recommend the George Hotel, and suspect the noise issue mentioned was a one off that didn't stop us having a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lazylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

quiet,clean and friendly.This was just what i wanted. thanks to maria and all the staff. food was excellent,service good .rooms cleaned,linen changed regularly. pool was a life saver in the hot weather. (no lifeguard-read notices). This is rated a 2star hotel- 3star would be a better rating. Just off the main road, its far enoughback to be quiet ,private and yet near enough for easy access to the main high street. Best time to go - June or Sept.(greeks / italians invade in July/Aug.).Be prepared for a liitle give and take and a little patience and you'll have a cracking stay.
Only hang up i have is the cost of safe keys and air conditioning. Always too expensive.
air con.7euros a night.!!!!

Room Tip: Back rooms normally quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcelm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just returned from a week long stay at the G George Hotel in Nidri, Lefkas. We arrived quite late in the evening and I have to say I was so disappointed when we got to the room. It is easily the smallest room I have ever had on many trips to Greece, with barely any space to put cases down. The bathroom is also extremely small but manageable. The room also had a small fridge, TV and balcony which we appreciated. We paid 15 euros to rent to safe for a week and air con. is 7 euros a night. The beds and pillows are extremely hard - it took me a week to feel comfortable but having said that my husband liked it. We managed to get free wifi intermittently which was a big plus.

We had two problems with the room (ants and broken hairdryer) that we first reported to a man that works there (pool guy who seems to do everything) - but nothing happened. As soon as we reported them to Maria (the owner) they were fixed the next day - so any problems go to her.

The position of the hotel is very convenient - it is off a small side road from the main. street and just a few minutes walk to all the bars and tavernas. Our favorite tavernas were Mamma mia (try the lamb kleftiko - amazing) and Appollon. Best bar we found was Roadhouse.

The hotel pool and bar area is really nice and we found the pool a good size for swimming. Breakfast was Ok, not terrible like some other reviewers had said. Most days I had toast with honey, boiled or fried eggs, and on good days fruit salad with greek yoghurt. If there was fruit salad everyday then I would have been very happy. The coffee was also pretty nice. We had one lunch at the restaurant (greek omelette and fries), which was very tasty but I have to say overpriced in my opinion at 8.50 euros.

My only real complaint with the hotel, and it did take a lot of enjoyment out of our holiday, was with the young pool guy who seems to run the show. We were told off on the first day for having a sip of our own water by the pool (everything must be purchased at the bar at extortionate rates!), but from that moment on we felt he was watching/ lurking all the time in a really officious manner. He would also hassle us constantly and ask us to explain why we were not eating in the restaurant in the evenings, what we had eaten else where and at what price (like most people we enjoy going out to the tavernas - go figure!). Seriously, we just want to go on holiday and relax and this was a step too far. The other staff are really nice it is just this one person on some sort of authority trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katkuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We went with the G George Aparthotel for a long week away. As soon as i got there Thomas cook had messed up the room. Stright away the George hotel staff got on the case and already had sorted a room out in there new part just across the road. Stright away we could tell this was going to be a great place to stay. The rooms as clean as they could be, Staff was so kind and friendly to all. The food was nice, breakfast in the mornings was fresh and extremly nice. Everyday i was in the swimming pool relaxing and at night we had tried all the cocktails the bar had to offer.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and i will hand on heart be returning when i can.

Thank you for making my first time stay in greece one to remember!

Kind regards

D. Nock and Family

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DNock88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#11 of 14 in Nidri
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
168 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
8.3 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#14 of 76 in Lefkada
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments George

Address: Valaoritou Str 8, Nidri 31087, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
Price Range: $46 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments George 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apartments George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g George Aparthotel Nidri
Apartments George Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing