We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Octavius to the rescue”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Villa Octavius

Welcome to Villa Octavius
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Octavius
Your first view of  Villa Octavius Easy walk in pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Welcome to Villa Octavius
Your first view of  Villa Octavius
Easy walk in pool
View from the air
Large Kitchen
Octagonal Lounge
Dinning Room
Super King Blue Room
Red Room
White Room
Dancing camels bedroom (twin)
Master bathroom
Hammock Tower
Main shaded terrace
Warm evenings
Shaded patio and Hammock Tower
Fire Table lounge under the stars
Ideal place to unwind
Enjoy the sea view from the Fire table lounge
View from the Red Bedroom Balcony
Super yachts in the bay! You have the best view
Enjoy Star filled nights from the Hot Tub
The pool eye
Cozy Jacuzzi seating area
Villa Octavius the ........Hilltop Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nidri, Lefkada, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Absf66
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Villa Octavius to the rescue”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our holiday did not start well. Not that that was anything to do with Villa Octavius, I should quickly add. Firstly, the priority plane seats we'd paid extra for failed to materialise and we ended up in duff seats, despite the additional cost. Then the hire car company at Preveza airport didn't have the car we'd booked and the replacement we were offered turned out to have an engine with the power of a faulty hairdryer - which made navigating Lefkada's steep, island roads a bit of a lottery. But the final straw was when we arrived at the original villa we had booked (sod's law, independently) and found it to be infested with a massive swarm of equally massive wasps that rendered it uninhabitable. Never mind that the air was full of the little buzzers; the thick black ring around the edge of the pool was a bit of a giveaway, too. Turned out it wasn't dirt but literally hundreds if not thousands of the evil critters having a mid-afternoon dip. With no tour operator or holiday rep to scream at/come to our rescue with alternative accommodation, our holiday looked like ending before it had even got started.

So, what do you do if you arrive on Lefkada to find you haven't got a roof over your heads - or at least one where you won't end up stung to smithereens? What you do is you ring Steve, the fabulous owner of the equally fabulous Villa Octavius, and pray to the heavens that you will luck out and find that the villa isn't booked for the two weeks that you are on the island. So that's exactly what we did.

Fortunately for us, we'd met Steve about ten years ago on a previous visit to Lefkada, way back when he was running commercial "marine adventure" boat trips. We'd had such a great day out that, in the run up to our 2014 trip, we'd tracked him down and arranged a private day's boating with him. In doing so we'd learned about Villa Octavius that he rented out - just a little something he'd knocked up in the intervening years since we'd met! Sadly, we'd just agreed the rental of a nice (or so we thought - they didn't mention the wasps) villa on the other side of the island, otherwise we would have splashed out and booked Villa Octavius straight away, so gorgeous did it look. And yes, the wasp-infested villa we'd originally booked that shall not be named was smaller, less luxurious and not as well situated... And yes, we were a bit miffed that we hadn't found Villa Octavius first, but, hey, we were going to have a great holiday regardless, right?

And thanks to those blooming great wasps at the villa we'd originally booked that shall not be named, we did have a phenomenal holiday - because in desperation we called Steve, and roughly one hour later we were settling into what has to be one of the finest holiday homes we have ever stayed in: the phenomenal Villa Octavius.

Beautifully furnished and superbly equipped, the house itself is a joy to live in and just oozes laid back, luxury living. Think fabulously chilled-out hammock tower (how could I have ever survived this long on this planet without my own hammock tower?); ridiculously well-equipped hi-tech kitchen; stunning bedrooms including a magnificent master bedroom suite with uber-opulent bathroom and a vast sitting room with giant, supremely comfy sofas for late-night lazes. Wonderfully stylish and full of character, it's a hugely happy and easy home to hang out in. Add to that Sonos; wifi and giant plasma, and, incredibly, even the teenager was sated. Frankly, you'd have to be a right difficult so and so to find things to complain about here, because we wanted for nothing... and we are fussy beggars. Little gifts of fruit and vegetables from the garden were an unexpected, lovely extra touch, too.

But best of all was the outdoor living - the sprawling terraces; lovingly-tended gardens; exquisite pool complete with swooping swallow displays; hot tub and fire pit - and that astonishing view over the Bay of Nidri. Seriously, I'd rent VO for that view alone. Much as I love a lie-in on holiday, the lure of watching that scene come alive as the sun came up was almost impossible to resist. Beyond beautiful.

The location is great. Go to the waterfalls. Eat out down the hill at the local taverna or down in Nidri. Head to Lefkada town for a night or two. Explore the beaches around the island - there are some absolute stunners on both sides of the island, although some are a vertiginous drive to get to. Take at least one boat trip with Steve to find octopi and see how Onassis once lived - and make sure to ask him to bring his enormous telescope up to the house so you can spend an evening spotting stars, and even the rings of Saturn. This is a magical place run by the loveliest and most helpful of hosts, who live right below you - not that you'd ever notice - and seem always on hand to help.

That we ended up here is proof that every cloud has a silver lining and that even nightmares can turn into the stuff of dreams. Wasps - we cannot thank you enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckystri...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A holiday of a lifetime!”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A holiday to remember

I don't know how to begin to explain my experience at villa octavius but let me start by saying it was the best holiday I have EVER had. The stunning villa sits right in the side of the mountains overlooking all the islands and the sea. Every day it brought me great joy to be able to lay by the pool and watch the the sun rise and set before me, all from the comfort of my new home. You feel a million miles away from anything in your safe haven. Although you are only fifteen minute walk from the village which is alive and buzzing with bars, tavernas, shops and even water sports on the bay. Villa octavius is impeccably designed giving a feeling of luxury but still the charm of traditional Greece. Every room has a beautiful view, it was hard to choose which one to stay in. Plenty of places to relax, you can even get a masseuse to come to the Villa and get a treatment in the hammock room which was sooooo good. Holiday highlight was a nighttime boat trip called 'sunset and stars' where you go out to another island and you could jump off the boat for a evening swim then climb back on chow down on some mouthwatering Greek food and guzzle down the wine and lay back and look to the stars and get lost in the Greek mythology and stories behind the constellations. A truly magical evening. All organised and performed by Steve himself.

In all honesty the nicest feeling of the villa is having Steve and Monica on hand at any point to make sure you have exactly what you want whenever you want and their attention to detail makes you feel at ease and at peace. Villa Octavius has given my family some beautiful memories and we talk about the villa as if it were a second home and we will definitely be returning :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundy
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Dream come true...”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This Villa really was a dream come true. We originally succumbed to the photos on the website but the reality is even better, if that's possible! Steve and Monika have thought of every mod-con in terms of kitchen facilities, inside and outside lighting, music technology, hot tub etc etc and it all complements the lovely furnishings and stunning views across the bay.
Our family group of 6 stayed for the first week in September and unfortunately were subjected to unseasonal downpours and thunderstorms 5 days out of 7, so we made more use of the inside of the villa than we expected and sadly hardly got to use the outside seating at all. The pool has tiered steps at one end and is very deep at the other and was popular with us for a cool off at the end of the day. Both pool and beach towels are provided as well as bath towels, and all were changed mid-week.
We did get out on Steve's famous boat trip on our first full day which was thankfully sunny, and had a brilliant time exploring and meeting his rather irritable octopus friend, stopping off on another island for lunch. We also took up Steve's suggestions on local tavernas. The Barrel in Nidri was great on a wet evening. Kato Rahoula taverna 10mins walk down the hill from the villa had a much more interesting menu than the average taverna with a nice terrace, quality food and friendly staff and is a must visit despite the inland location.
Another of Steve's recommendations was Egremni beach, which we visited one warm sunny afternoon. Negotiating the 350 steps to this stunning beach is well worth the effort. We also enjoyed Mamma Mia taverna in Nidri's Greek night (good a la carte food but accompanied by complementary ouzo, the waiters dancing, customer participation and plate smashing) for a more lively evening. A standard taxi into Nidri from the villa cost around 8 euros. Make sure you mention Steve's name when eating out as it does seem to pull strings/bring out freebies!
Nidri waterfalls are close by for a change of scenery from pool/beach but best to drive to the car park as it is still a fair walk up from there. Even at this time of year there was a decent flow and it was busy with tourists, although due to the recent rains the pools were brown so no one was taking a dip in them.
Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would recommend this villa to anyone who appreciates quality and stunning scenery.
Tip: if you are flying in early at Preveza airport and have time to kill on route, given check-in is from 3pm, the Seven Islands taverna at Ligia is a lovely peaceful waterside spot for lunch, midway to the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous views across Nidri Bay
Liked least: The rainy weather - nothing that the Villa could control!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a week at Villa Octavius. What can I say that hasn't been said already? This villa is outstanding. Sitting majestically on the hillside with stunning views all around. The decor is exquisite and so tasteful. The outdoor area nothing short of incredible. We felt like A list stars. It's the attention to the smallest details that really stood out for us. Steve and Monica have done a fantastic job here. We all loved the boat trip with Steve. He is such good fun and far more entertaining than the usual holiday pleasure cruise. We can't wait to go back and will definitely stay for longer this time.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip I
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Second Visit which says a lot!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well my wife and I went back for a second visit which is most unusual for us as we seem to always find new places to visit, but the attraction here was too great.
This is surely one of the best villas around. Superbly appointed, looked after and managed. Everything you could want and such a good place to relax. The elevated position not only gives great views over Nidri but also benefits from a cool breeze to offset the Greek sun. Big enough to get lost and find some solitude to sleep, read or just contemplate life, but social enough to have drinks round the fire table or al fresco lunch and dinner of the BBQ. 5 minutes from the best taverna in the area makes this one hard to leave for too long. I fear against our normal traits we might be back there again next year.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Truly Excellent”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This villa has it all. The location, the views, quality throughout and seclusion are incredible. Everything in the villa has been thought through for the perfect holiday experience. Outside is wonderful, the space, the pool and the seating allows you to relax and not be in each others pockets.

We'll be going back and I'll be promoting the villa to all that will listen.

You'll have a brilliant time!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie C
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Simply breathtaking!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Having looked at the photos and read previous reviews we expected Villa Octavius to be fantastic. But nothing prepared us for quite how amazing it is! On arrival at the villa the views and the standards of accommodation were simply breathtaking. We spent the first hour just wandering round saying "wow"! We didn't stop saying it for the rest of the week. Everything about the villa and the location is stunning. Our hosts, Steve and Monica did everything they could to ensure we had a wonderful holiday. Nothing was too much trouble, they were accessible and helpful whilst remaining discreet and not intruding at any time. To have them close at hand was a definite bonus. The villa itself is everything you could possibly want and more, simply stunning. The views from the terrace and indeed every room in the house are fabulous. We decided not to hire a car, Steve kindly arranged taxis to collect us from the airport and within easy walking distance of the villa was a brilliant taverna. The walk to the town and beach was only a mile and when we had shopping to carry or were just hot and tired a taxi home was only a few euros. Steve's boat trips are a definite must, we learned so much about the area, the sea-life and the stars amongst other things! We enjoyed the walk to the waterfalls, a massage on the beach, excellent food and friendly people everywhere we went. I could write so much about our fantastic holiday but will just say that we will definitely be visiting Villa Octavius again and if you are thinking of booking a holiday there just do it, you certainly won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing