We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location hotel rooms basic”
Review of Palmyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmyra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely location hotel rooms basic”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel rooms need updating and some safety aspects need to be looked at .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janesmithmiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
102
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just returned from a very hot 2 weeks at the Palmyra

Room size and facilities we found to be typically Greek - basic but acceptable.

Air conditioning extremely cheap at only 5 Euros per day - and absolutely necessary in the 35 degree heat we had.

Pool area is nice however the tiled area around the bar does get very slippery

We spent more time on the sunbeds in the garden area by the pool than we did at the beach as there was a lot more space to relax

Bar and lunchtime snack prices were very reasonable

We really enjoyed our holiday here and wouldnt hesitate to recommend the Palmyra

Nidri is a fantastic resort - this was our third visit and we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caprirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

lets start with the good points..location,nice and quiet,close to the beach..family seemed fairly friendly.The bad points ..apartments are basic to say the least ,we had a one bedroom apartment, which was shabby,needed updating ,plug sockets hanging out the wall!! we got there late on a sunday,ant the cotbed they had provided for our baby was broken,the insect blind was broken ,and the safe was not secured to the wall of the wardrobe..when we mentioned these problems they were dealt with..but you just dont pay to go on holiday and have to deal with problems..the pool was ok but not child friendly or particulary clean,to be honnest you can use any hotel pool as long as you buy the occasional drink,which we did ,we used the orion pool,fantastic pool and views right on the beach!We did have some nice views from our balcony..and we enjoyed our holiday as we used used the hotel as a base ..we love nidri and this is our third time back,just wouldnt go back to the palymra again..on a final note and i know other people have mentioned the cleaning before..the apartment was not cleaned well at all.i ended up cleaning the bathroom and wiping sides down,we dont mind basic rooms but especially when you have a baby it has to be clean!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franchesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned after spending 2 weeks in this Hotel. The staff are lovely very pleasant and very helpful. The only negatives are that the rooms or our one room 125 was in desperate need of updating, the bedding was very old fashioned, there were no plugs in either the kitchen or bathroom sink, the crockery was very basic, no kettle so we had to use the one and only saucepan to boil water in. Also there was no electric socket anywhere near the mirror which was a real pain. We were also near the breakfast room which was really noisy with staff setting up quite early, we didn't have breakfast there so can't comment on that. The pool needs some work doing to it as it was quite tatty in places. There was no internet in the room but a computer and wi fi in reception which was freely available to use. Despite all this I would definitely recommend the Hotel as it was clean and very friendly and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestotravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

27 may to 3 June fantastic holiday very friendly
family owned hotel nidri is a wonderful place
we had a great time we will definitely book at the Palmyra hotel again very soon
Mr T and ann

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is in an ideal location, very near the beach and not far from the main town and tavernas. Its very clean, we had our room cleaned every day and the towels and sheets were changed plenty. The staff are really nice and friendly and food and drinks available from the pool bar are at the same prices as every where else which were all reasonable. The beds are comfy and hot water never ran out. We are used to self catering in Greece and the kitchen section not having much to cook with but these ktichens are very basic, so that was the only down side as they had no frying pan or breadboard no bowls. We managed and it wouldn't stop us going again but if you like to cook in its not for you. Nidri is so relaxing and very pretty, there are plenty of tavernas to choose from, with boat trips to go on and boats to hire. Lots of lovely cafe's with free wifi Cafe di Paris was a favourite and the best Taverna for us was The Barrel the owner Fotis will look after you if you go. Try Dimitris its a taxi ride uphill with the most stunning views the food is really cheap and a taxi will cost 5 euros each way. We went on the Odyssey boat trip it was well worth the money with a great beach BBQ.

Room Tip: rooms over the pool are sunny in the afternoon, the rooms looking over the back walkway are shady in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Really nice 3-star hotel! The staff is very friendly, helpful and service minded. Everything was clean and tidy. Free wifi in the lobby and a computer that guests can use for free.

Perfect location, calm and no noise but only a close walk to the main street. Easy access to the ocean even if the beaches are much nicer on the west coast of the Island.

There is a bar menu with some light food such as burgers and salads, as well as various drinks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger_pf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidri
0.3 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#2 of 14 in Nidri
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#6 of 14 in Nidri
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#12 of 14 in Nidri
21 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Hotel

Property: Palmyra Hotel
Address: Nidri Lefkada, Nidri 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nidri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nidri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmyra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmyra hotel located between the green and the sea.The Palmyra hotel was built at 1994 and renew at 2005.Combine the green of nature and the blue of the sea.The sea abstains hardly 50 m. The 30 rooms are spacious, comfortable, and equipped with modern equipments and guest room necessities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Palmyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmyra Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing