We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weekend to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Marine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Pringle Bay B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A weekend to remember”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Contacted the Susan at the Villa Marine and told her I was planning on asking my girlfriend to marry me the weekend of our stay. She agree'ed to host a private dinner for us on our patio, the menu totally designed by me. Weather did not play ball, so we had it in the dinning area rather. The food was gorgeous and the service spectacular. The rooms were perfect to the point it almost had my girlfriend in tears. The whole weekend was perfect and I would recommend the place to anyone and I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
349 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We just spent 3 nights at Villa Marine - what a delight! The room was perfect - 2 big wingback chairs with ottomans, facing the ocean - an in-room gas fireplace - a large balcony with 2 adirondeck chairs - and a fabulous bathroom w/ large windows providing magnificent views of the mountains behind. Susan cooked a great breakfast each morning. And she and hubbie Eben were terrific hosts - very friendly, helpful and available to chat as much or as little as we wanted. We hated to leave ....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I stayed at Villa Marine recently in November. I was on a trip along the southern coast with my girlfriend and Villa Marine was by far the most beautiful and romantic place we stayed. The hosts Eben and Susan were gracious and kind from the first call I made to make the reservation. There rates were very affordable, even in the high season. When we arrived we were shown to our lovely suite with an amazing view and our own private deck on the cliff overlooking the ocean. We also had a great jacuzzi in our room, and all the doors and windows opened up to the sea to create an amazing open air feel to the space. The room itself was spotless and well decorated. We had our own DVD/CD player and a flatscreen TV. Our private minibar/fridge was stocked with cool drinks, and we had nice bottles of red and white wine to enjoy. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, omelettes, and french toast every morning. Our stay in Pringle Bay was great, and it wouldn't have been the same without Villa Marine.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed here for just one night, our last night in South Africa. We decided that before heading back to cold and rainy London, we needed one more day on the coast, preferably somewhere right on the beach. And so we found Villa Marine Guesthouse. It has the best location of all the B & B's in Pringle Bay - with basically nothing between you and the sea. We had one of their luxury suites which is definitely worth the extra as you get a private balcony and stunning sea views. The room is very luxurious with lovely bed linen, two comfy armchairs and huge fluffy white bathsheets. The bathroom is also fantastic with a double shower and a big bath. It also has a view of the mountain.

Our host was perfectly lovely and very helpful. She recommended the local restaurant - 365 - for dinner which was very good.

The place also has a fantastic looking pool and deck which overlooks the sea. Just wish it had been warm enough to swim.

Pringle Bay was a really nice find. A sleepy little seaside village with lots of rocks for scrambling and a great beach. And Clarence Drive, the road between Gordons Bay and Pringle Bay is a must.

  • Liked — The sea views
  • Disliked — That we could only stay one night.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Right on the cliffs, with waves crashing and gulls shrieking - right outside the floor to ceiling windows - great! Thoughtfully decorated rooms, too. Our problem was the service - especially host Susan, who had confirmed by email that she would cook us dinner during our stay but upon arrival declared she didn't feel like cooking two nights in a row, for example. And the classy sounding "three course meal by candle light" mentioned on the website and in her email ended up being a one course bobotie (sheperd's pie) and a slice of simple pudding, for the price of the whole dinner promised. Cleanliness wasn't too great, either - body hairs all over the shower floor upon check-in, and the second day, we had put the face cloths and a dirty towel into the sink but these were simply draped over the shower door again, unreplaced. But the main thing was attitude I guess, and this the hosts lacked - they just aren't cut out to be in the hospitaliy industry! That's fine, not everyone is, but they shouldn't be trying to make a living by renting out the rooms of their home. My husband breathed a sigh of relief when we left just because we were always tense in the host's presence, constantly feeling we were doing something wrong or inconvenient, as her comments and manner implied. Still, if you're going to Pringle Bay, I feel it might be the most dramatic place you can go to, because as far as I could see (we've been to PB a number of times), it really is the only guesthouse right on the water, and that is what is lovely about Pringle Bay!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Villa Marine is in a little village called Pringle Bay which is about 20 kms from the well-known whale watching town of Hermanus. The Guest House is situated right on the sea front (only a rarely used dirt road in front). The setting is absolutely beautiful with views across the rocks and ocean. On the right you look across False Bay and can see as far as Cape Point. The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular and on a clear night, star gazing is incredible. I am sure that in-season whale watching would be fantastic. We believe there are also sea otters spotted in the rock pools below.

We had one of the superior suites which are upstairs overlooking the sea. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a luxurious bathroom.

The owners are Susan and Eben Cloete who are very warm, friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the lodge (they cook 3 nights a week even though they are a B&B establishment). We started with crayfish caught by Eben, followed by a lovely steak. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious.

We felt that it is such a shame that the lack of attention to detail in terms of the finishing touches of the building spoilt what is a beautiful home in an idyllic setting, e.g. the decking around the pool is not edged properly, the decking is painted in a very dull brown paint making it look old and tired, the tiles in the bathroom around the door and bath are not cut evenly with bare concrete being left. This said, we would go back as the hospitality, setting and sound of the waves is spectacular.

If you want a place that has the sound of the sea, a pool, isolated, but restaurants not too far away, then this is the spot for you. Its gorgeous.

  • Liked — The setting right on the sea with waves crashing on the rocks
  • Disliked — The finishes are poor
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKIngwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pringle Bay
1.0 mi away
Sea Villa Glen Craig
Sea Villa Glen Craig
#1 of 1 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
18.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
3Flavours Guest House
3Flavours Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Mer Guest House
Belle Mer Guest House
#2 of 3 in Pringle Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
8.3 mi away
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
#1 of 8 in Betty's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine Guest House

Property: Villa Marine Guest House
Address: 73 Marine Drive, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Pringle Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pringle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marine Guest house is nestled in a spectacular rocky bay on the whale route in Pringle Bay village. Experience the sea a mere stone throw from one of our luxurious en-suite rooms. Our unique combination of warm hospitality and highly personalized service ensures an exclusive experience. There are 5 en-suite guest rooms ranging in size and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Villa Marine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing