We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windswept and wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Pringle Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Windswept and wonderful”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The weather may not have been very kind to us but Sue certainly was. A beautifully appointed room and bathroom, complete with our own gas fire (which we certainly needed) and a fabulous view of the ocean. Even the hair dryer was great with a plug socket, a stool and a mirror all in the right place! This is a very welcoming guest house in a wonderful setting. Sue is a wonderful host, full of interesting conversation. She made a reservation for us at Hook Line and Sinker restaurant, an absolute must if you visit Pringle Bay. Would definitely go back to this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarineCapeTown, Owner at Villa Marine Guest House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We get to meet many people at Villa Marine from all walks of life. We especially enjoy hosting the stay of well travelled and happy people and to see how they share their positive views. Susan always sais it is such a wonderfull trait to be happy in your own skin. Thank you for being happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a great experience, we loved it so much that we stayed for an extra night! This guesthouse is in the best setting you can possibly find - situated on the ocean front in Pringle Bay, you just look straight out at the waves crashing on the rocks below... Mesmerizing and so relaxing! It doesn't even matter if the weather lets you down as the room has a lovely gas fireplace and you can still watch the waves from the cosy comfort of your room. The room was extremely well equipped and very comfortable..... We can't wait to go back.... Thank you Susan, Eben and staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodgemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarineCapeTown, Owner at Villa Marine Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many THanks for staying with us VIlla Marine GUest House. We really appreciate your positive note on Tripadvisor. Coming from another guest house owner we value your kind words even more.
Regards
Eben and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solwezi, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Villa Marine as the first part of our honeymoon. A better location would be absolutely impossible. If you want to sit on your little patio and almost get sea spray in your face, this is the place :) it's absolutely awesome! Susan was very accommodating and happy to meet our every need. The small thoughtful touches, like a bottle of champagne and choccies in the fridge, were lovely. My only gripe was that breakfast was a bit 'ordinary', though freshly prepared and delicious. I wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room (the first one as you go up the stairs) and waking up to that view (nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarineCapeTown, Owner at Villa Marine Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many Thanks for staying at VIlla Marine GUest House and giving us a positive note on Tripadvisor .
Regards
Eben and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Marine. Beautiful room with an incredible sea view, and best of all a jacuzzi on the balcony! Wish we could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: Suite 6,5,4 all have jacuzzis !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellycpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Have just spent a weekend at Villa Marine with my husband - an absolutely gorgeous setting!! We had a superior room with it's own private sea facing terrace and a jacuzzi - the perfect spot for catching up on some reading or just lazing around, undisturbed.
The owners were friendly and helpful without being over-bearing, and the little extras were appreciated such as a plunger and filter coffee in the rooms (instead of the usual Frisco sachets!!), sherry and chocolates. There was a small selection of drinks in the fridge (water, cokes, fruit juice etc) which we thought we would need to pay for, but we were told not to worry on leaving.
My only complaint? Larger, fluffier towels would have been nice, and more continental breakfast options such as croissants etc as I'm not a huge cooked breakfast fan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adunkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We have spend three nights at Villa Marine, Pringle Bay and thoroughly enjoyed it. Early morning walks followed by an excellent breakfast prepared us for our daily trips exploring the surrounding areas.

The friendliness of the owners and assistance in booking dinner at the popular surrounding restaurants was much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarineCapeTown, Owner at Villa Marine Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Many Thanks Sarel for you positive Review! These reviews are important to us and are valuable. It was a pleasure to host your stay. We look forward to a repeat visit.
Regards
Eben Cloete
0835551053
Villa Marine Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

On 29 December 2011 we arrived at Villa Marine. The rate we were expected to pay was R1700.00 per night- which is well above the asking rate of accredited 4 star accommodation in Pringle Bay (Glen Craig 4* R1100.00 per night and Wild Olive 4*R1150.00-web based enquiries)-f or this type of money it is only fair to expect a level of luxury. When we arrived the house smelt terribly of damp and the Eben was sprawled on the couch eating a sandwich-no attempt to greet us was made. When we entered the house we discovered that our ‘luxury room’ was a room in the owners house at the end of a dark passage. The double shower was terribly small and installed in the shower was a chair much like those you find in nursing homes! The place was falling into a general state of disrepair with prices of the bamboo ceiling missing in the lounge. The bed was old and lumpy and had a dent in the middle. The Jacuzzi advertised (which was as small as a jet bath) was on a balcony covered by the smallest, awkward awning-which Eben admitted was a temporary structure. My husband and I decided not to stay at Villa Marine as it was an immoral amount of money for what we got when compared to what actual graded guest houses were asking. When we informed Eben and Susan we were not happy and wished to leave they both became exceptionally defensive. I explained that they could keep the deposit (in excess of R5000.00) all we wanted the remainder of our money (which we had, like fools, paid up front). Neither of them greeted us goodbye and we left. The following day I phoned Eben to find out when the remainder of the money was to be paid, he indicated that afternoon. That evening I called him back and which time he became verbally abusive to me stating that he will pay back the money when he feels like ti as we have cost him money. I had to remind him that he was keeping our large deposit and that his cancellation policy was only the deposit. I actually had to threaten him with the police! At which time he responded ‘I dare you, I welcome you to do so’. My husband called him and a ‘man-to-man’ chat seemed to be what Eben responded to (amazing in these times!). We got our money back that evening (albeit not the correct amount but at that point we were just glad to be rid of Villa Marine). We checked in elsewhere at a 48 establishment which charged R900.00 per night.
Villa Marine needs to charge reasonable money (a sea view does not allow you the right to charge unrealistic prices when compared to graded establishments) and the owners desperately need to learn how to work with paying customers (especially those who are not happy). The place desperately needs some maintenance and I would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TPeyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pringle Bay
0.9 mi away
Sea Villa Glen Craig
Sea Villa Glen Craig
#1 of 1 in Pringle Bay
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Belle Mer Guest House
Belle Mer Guest House
#2 of 3 in Pringle Bay
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
3Flavours Guest House
3Flavours Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pringle Bay
291 reviews
8.3 mi away
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
#1 of 8 in Betty's Bay
121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wonderlings B&B
Wonderlings B&B
#1 of 1 in Rooiels
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine Guest House

Property: Villa Marine Guest House
Address: 73 Marine Drive, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Pringle Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pringle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marine Guest house is nestled in a spectacular rocky bay on the whale route in Pringle Bay village. Experience the sea a mere stone throw from one of our luxurious en-suite rooms. Our unique combination of warm hospitality and highly personalized service ensures an exclusive experience. There are 5 en-suite guest rooms ranging in size and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Marine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing