We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, mediocre attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Pringle Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Right on the cliffs, with waves crashing and gulls shrieking - right outside the floor to ceiling windows - great! Thoughtfully decorated rooms, too. Our problem was the service - especially host Susan, who had confirmed by email that she would cook us dinner during our stay but upon arrival declared she didn't feel like cooking two nights in a row, for example. And the classy sounding "three course meal by candle light" mentioned on the website and in her email ended up being a one course bobotie (sheperd's pie) and a slice of simple pudding, for the price of the whole dinner promised. Cleanliness wasn't too great, either - body hairs all over the shower floor upon check-in, and the second day, we had put the face cloths and a dirty towel into the sink but these were simply draped over the shower door again, unreplaced. But the main thing was attitude I guess, and this the hosts lacked - they just aren't cut out to be in the hospitaliy industry! That's fine, not everyone is, but they shouldn't be trying to make a living by renting out the rooms of their home. My husband breathed a sigh of relief when we left just because we were always tense in the host's presence, constantly feeling we were doing something wrong or inconvenient, as her comments and manner implied. Still, if you're going to Pringle Bay, I feel it might be the most dramatic place you can go to, because as far as I could see (we've been to PB a number of times), it really is the only guesthouse right on the water, and that is what is lovely about Pringle Bay!

Stayed: October 2007
5  Thank HappyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 68 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2007

Villa Marine is in a little village called Pringle Bay which is about 20 kms from the well-known whale watching town of Hermanus. The Guest House is situated right on the sea front (only a rarely used dirt road in front). The setting is absolutely beautiful with views across the rocks and ocean. On the right you look across False Bay and can see as far as Cape Point. The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular and on a clear night, star gazing is incredible. I am sure that in-season whale watching would be fantastic. We believe there are also sea otters spotted in the rock pools below.

We had one of the superior suites which are upstairs overlooking the sea. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a luxurious bathroom.

The owners are Susan and Eben Cloete who are very warm, friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the lodge (they cook 3 nights a week even though they are a B&B establishment). We started with crayfish caught by Eben, followed by a lovely steak. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious.

We felt that it is such a shame that the lack of attention to detail in terms of the finishing touches of the building spoilt what is a beautiful home in an idyllic setting, e.g. the decking around the pool is not edged properly, the decking is painted in a very dull brown paint making it look old and tired, the tiles in the bathroom around the door and bath are not cut evenly with bare concrete being left. This said, we would go back as the hospitality, setting and sound of the waves is spectacular.

If you want a place that has the sound of the sea, a pool, isolated, but restaurants not too far away, then this is the spot for you. Its gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKIngwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vagabund8330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarineCapeTown, Owner at Villa Marine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webersabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarineCapeTown, Owner at Villa Marine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarineCapeTown, Owner at Villa Marine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Arie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pringle Bay
0.9 mi away
Sea Villa Glen Craig
Sea Villa Glen Craig
#1 of 1 in Pringle Bay
74 reviews
8.3 mi away
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
#1 of 8 in Betty's Bay
123 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kapensis Guesthouse
Kapensis Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Pringle Bay
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Mer Guest House
Belle Mer Guest House
#2 of 3 in Pringle Bay
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse
3.6 mi away
Wonderlings B&B
Wonderlings B&B
#1 of 1 in Rooiels
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine Guest House

Address: 73 Marine Drive, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Pringle Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pringle Bay
Price Range: $123 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marine Guest house is nestled in a spectacular rocky bay on the whale route in Pringle Bay village. Experience the sea a mere stone throw from one of our luxurious en-suite rooms. Our unique combination of warm hospitality and highly personalized service ensures an exclusive experience. There are 5 en-suite guest rooms ranging in size and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Marine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing