We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Pringle Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, Essex
1 review
“Perfect !”
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Moonstruck for 2 nights just after Christmas 2008. Having arrived with no expectations (sometimes it's nice to travel "blind"), we were immediately won over by the place and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our 2 week holiday in South Africa. This is no small praise given that we were lucky enough to stay in some top quality places along the way.....

For us, it hit exactly the right note on many levels - very relaxed atmosphere (reflecting that of Pringle Bay itself), great attention to detail (without being fussy), friendly & helpful yet unobtrusive staff, lots of lovely little touches that are well thought out and not over the top.

And then there's the setting.....we were in room 4 which has a huge terrace with table & chairs plus a daybed. The view of the bay over the fynbos (great for birdwatching) with the mountains in the background is spectacular. The room itself was spacey and very tastefully kitted out - again, plenty of care and thought has clearly gone into this. If forced to come up with any negative points, I would say the shower isn't great (not very powerful) but that's a minor quibble which is greatly outweighed by everything else.

We have already talked about returning to South Africa just so we can go back to Moonstruck on Pringle Bay for a longer stay - highly recommended !

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere, great location, attention to detail
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainMan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
225
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Really can't say enough good things about our stay - will recommend it to friends and family without any hesitation. Beautiful room with stunning views. Karen is a very thoughtful host who was spot on with her recommendations for things to see and do and places to eat. It's a super place to relax and unwind. Everything about our stay was perfect.

  • Liked — Thoughtful touches throughout/
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Moonstruck is a delightful B and B in a magnificent setting.
The property is lovely, well-run by efficient, friendly and 'not under your feet' staff.
This is my second visit there and I will be returning next year.
Great rooms, wonderful views, lovely breakfasts and a relaxed and 'feel at home' atmosphere.
I'd recommend it to everyone to give it a try!

  • Liked — Friendly environement and location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Moonstruck i s a Lovely Place, set in a fantastic part of the world. It has Excellent views and rooms; the Staff are lovely, and Breakfasts excellent. To Top it all, Karen is a charming and thoughtful Hostess, who goes out of her way to help with Restaurant and expedition recommendations.

Would visit again in a flash.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank londonhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2008

It is relaxation personified. Tranquil and peaceful and just beautiful! We only went for a weekend, but what we got out was worth an entire holiday. Thank you

  • Liked — The tranquility and views
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvdmerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

The setting is - Getaway. From all the trappings of the city and work stresses and strain. Rooms are tastefully decorated without being fussy. Very spacious and afford you all the privacy you want. The staff melt away and never intrude. The top criteria was cleanliness - the linen is crisp the bathroom is pristine ... the fold back, the chocolates, the information and well wishes in notes ... leave you with a very polished touch. There is concern for each guests privacy and this is not a stay for noisy and active families with young children. The faciliites provide you with soooo much ... you can feel alone in the world and recharge batteries and return to the city refueled. it demands repeated returns ... your host is available without being intrusive ... very knowledgable lady that will have you wondering what to do first.
The evenings have the best sunsets in the world ... the moon hangs like a huge bowl of light from every vista. Also of the best breakfast fare is given with generosity of spirit

She remains for me the house of romantic returns ...

  • Liked — cleanliness and spaciousness
  • Disliked — worked for me ...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Morantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty's Bay
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2008

My wife gave me one of the best birthday gifts I ever imagined getting. We were booked in in the Honeymoon suite for the night.
Due to our hectic days at our factory, we were raelly tired. We only spend one night here and it felt like a weeks holiday. The service, breakfast and the room were highly recomendable. The best thing is the VIEW !!! 10 Stars for Karen

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Puntinniwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pringle Bay
0.6 mi away
Sea Villa Glen Craig
Sea Villa Glen Craig
#1 of 1 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
13.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Marine Guest House
Villa Marine Guest House
#3 of 7 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.8 mi away
3Flavours Guest House
3Flavours Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
13.2 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse

Property: Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse
Address: 264 Hangklip Road, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Pringle Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pringle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstruck on Pringle Bay, a contemporary beach house retreat, offers private and luxurious oceanfront accommodation with panoramic views. The guesthouse is an "idyllic romantic getaway" for enjoying a coastal vacation. The pristine sandy beach is under a 3 minutes stroll through an indigenous "fynbos" greenbelt in front of the house; ensuring our accommodation is perfectly located for a beach vacation. Operating on a bed and breakfast (B&B) basis, guests enjoy breakfasts whilst enjoying mountain and ocean views, with an array of quality restaurants all within easy strolling distance of Moonstruck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing