We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable”
Review of Bissick Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bissick Old Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 Ladock B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Bissick Old Mill in The Granary, which is separate accommodation next to the main house. Very clean and comfortable with an upstairs area of small kitchen and lounge with TV.
We stayed 2 nights while we explored parts of Cornwall and found it to be a good central location to base ourselves. Patrick was very knowledgable and gave us helpful information regarding places to see and how to get there.
Breakfast was very nice with buffet fresh fruits cereal etc and a full English breakfast or personal preference.
Overall impression very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights; a really impressive first rate b&b. We were lucky enough to have the suite with two bathrooms and all the space we could need. The fridge and coffee facilities came in handy. Superbly clean and breakfast was a real treat - would recommend the Full Cornish. On arrival, we were brought coffee and biscuits; what a great way to start the trip. Would definintely recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardwithHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May for the may bank holiday period, this is the 2nd time we have stayed here, this place was recommended to us by our very close friends who live in the village of Ladock and they knew how good this lovely place is.
First of all Paddy and Vivienne are absolutely lovely hosts and they make you feel very welcome right from the start of your stay. Secondly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable and have all you need and more, including tea, coffee, biscuits, milk and fridge and tv and magazines and the bathrooms are lovely and clean. Thirdly the breakfasts are excellent and freshly made and we have never tasted such lovely perfect eggs!
Paddy and Vivienne can give you all the info for whatever you want to do in Cornwall and we noticed that they always had the time to talk to all the guests and make them feel very welcome.
This is a very comfortable homely place to stay which has much better and cleaner facilities than a lot of 4 star hotels that we have stayed in!
All in all an excellent place to stay and we would highly recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAJ12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed two nights and wish it could have been longer. Patrick greeted us and offered some tea when we arrived. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower. Breakfast choices were delicious and accompanied by soft classical music. Vivienne provided helpful info about the area. This is a good location to drive into Truro and beyond for day trips, and quiet in the evenings. We would love to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms are on the second floor and I think they would all be fine. A person with mobility issues mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent one night here in April 2013. My room was large, the bathroom was dated but fine. Bed was very comfortable. Peaceful nights sleep.

Breakfast was fine, nothing special but alan hart from adequate.

There is a quite pub about 15 feet away so conveneint for a nightcap.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

just had a wonderful couple of days staying in the Granary Annexe on b&b basis. The room has lots of charm and the breakfast is to die for - amazing and fresh and sets you up for the day. Pady is a wonderful and charming host. This lovely accomodation is very central to both Cornish coasts and the pub next door serves great food and has a lovely atmosphere - which added to the whole experience
Certainly worth a 2nd visit - can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked a room very last minute for my mother and myself, and when we arrived we were amazed at the size of the room. We had a twin room with dressing room, separate lounge and two en suites, one with shower and one with bath, I think it was room 3. What I loved about the decor was that it was unique with beautiful art on the walls instead of the boring stuff you get in large hotels. The room was lovely and warm, with everything from sliced lemon in the fridge as requested to a small selection of DVDs to watch should you find yourself bored of an evening. Pub next door was pleasant and served decent pub grub. Also good quality organic toiletries and every amenity you can think of.
Breakfast was also superb, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was probably the best I've had, and there were nice touches like homemade jams in dishes (not the plastic pots you sometimes get).
All this for £65.

Overall an excellent night's sleep and blinding value for money, will certainly book again next time I'm in the West Country.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppet747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bissick Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bissick Old Mill

Address: Ladock TR2 4PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Ladock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ladock
Price Range: $104 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bissick Old Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful 17th century water mill sympathetically restored to provide extremely well appointed accommodation with exceptional standards of comfort, cuisine and hospitality. Central rural location makes ideal base for exploring all parts of Cornwall. Close to the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. OPEN: ALL YEAR ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bissick Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing