We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy lodge in a beautiful area of Scotland”
other travelers have booked this property
A 'Little House on the Prairie' style lodge with a covered porch & sea views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A 'Little House on the Prairie' style lodge with a covered porch & sea views
The wood burning stove is the focal point for the cosy lounge with English leather sofa The complementary wood, kindling, and firelighters will get you started with the wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
A 'Little House on the Prairie' style lodge with a covered porch & sea views
The wood burning stove is the focal point for the cosy lounge with English leather sofa
The complementary wood, kindling, and firelighters will get you started with the wood burning stove
Cosy checks and calico florals complement the cedar walls
The double room has a metal bedstead, french doors to the covered balcony and sea views
... all you need! A perfect romantic getaway.
Antique pine linen press, willow baskets and laura Ashley checks complete the country style double
Homestead style: the twin room has vintage design bedding and snuggly quilts
Dogs are welcome - they love the beach, forest and hill walks the area has to offer
The view SouthEast down the estuary and out to sea from the balcony
Relax on the spacious deck
Kippford is set in a National Scenic Area. This is the view from screel
The lodge is a just 4 minute ride from Dalbeattie Forest 7Stanes mountain bike trail
The view from the deck out to the Solway yacht Club moorings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kath12331...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy lodge in a beautiful area of Scotland”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

2 adults, our 12yr old son and smallish dog enjoyed this cosy lodge in a peacefully green pleasant setting and equally gorgeous surrounding area for 4 nights.

We only recently realised there were biking routes in what's called called the '7 stanes' (soul quelling Scottish forest areas!) and this lodge is a five minute drive from the main starting point of one (Dalbeattie). A couple more days could have quite easily been filled with more local walks, pub lunches and cafes and perhaps we would have tried the next nearest 7 stane at Mabie. We squeezed in a cracking three mile walk from Kippford village to Rockcliffe with a lovely little beach before we left, plus there's plenty more but alas, only 24hrs in a day. Also, there's quite a good outdoor family activity place - Cream O' Galloway, which is an hour away, where we met Scottish relatives . (It's v much for the whole family). And lastly, Kirkcudbright could be worth a visit, it's pretty and arty.

A repeat visit is a def possibility. It's enjoyable for all the above, with the super warm log burning stove to enjoy in the evening whilst reading, playing games or watching DVD's. Our dog was mighty happy to sniff the thousand different woody/beach smells on her ventures outside too. You'll like it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
It's very kind of you to take the time to review your stay, and leave such lovely comments in the Visitor Book, a hearty SW Scotland thank -you. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to this wonderful corner of Scotland, you certainly seem to have made the most of your time here. Perhaps next time you might like to try the zip-wire at Laggan Outdoor, fantastic fun (but not for the faint hearted!). Apologies that the Red Squirrels only turned up once, I'll have a quiet word with them for next time. We look forward to welcoming you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogdens201...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great winter break in cosy log cabin”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was a great place to visit with fine walks along the coast and in the Dalbeattie Forest. Kippford is a 15 minute walk from the cabin and has a cafe and 2 pubs, with The Anchor being our favourite.
The cabin was small with 2 double bedrooms which was more than adequate for 2 adults and a dog. It was very clean and well equipped and the owner was very helpful, especially helping us find it in the dark. The log fire made it very cosy in the evenings and heated the whole cabin. The cabin has a large veranda with great views and we even managed to sit outside one afternoon in warm sunshine while the rest of the country was struggling with gales and snow due to storm Doris.
We would love to return in the summer to take more advantage of the outside space.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
That you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Sitting out on the veranda with a mug of coffee, watching the Red Squirrels is my favourite pastime - I hope they put in an appearance for you. If you decide to return in the Summer I am sure the area will not disappoint as there is so much to do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The views from the lodge were lovely and we were lucky to have some gorgeous weather while we were there. We were kept entertained by the birds and squirrels while chilling on the deck, it was just lovely. The lodge is peaceful and cosy, just a beautiful location and a great spot to explore that part of Scotland.....loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. It's much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful part of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
724momo
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great new year”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Beautiful lodge set in stunning location, everything you would need is there and in a perfect location. Log burner, so warm and cosy, on new years eve needed to leave door open.owner, carol us so helpful no request was too much, birds and wildlife was stunning. Would definatey reccommend .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your Hogmanay stay at the lodge. It was a pleasure making you and and your little dog welcome. Thank you for your lovely review. Wishing you a very Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johns2ne1...
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location but...”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

lodge is in perfect location for the delightful village of Kippford. great views over the estuary and very safe for our dog
The lodge was well stocked with everything required for a self catering break.
However, we found the lodge so dark and gloomy! No decent light, natural or otherwise, to read , do hair or make up etc. Tiny TV and no WiFi
Weather was awful whilst we were there and it was difficult to feel warm and cosy or to get clothes dry. The water pressure was poor making it difficult to get a decent shower.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2016
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to send feedback, it is valuable and always welcome. Rest assured I will act on it. I’ve put in extra lamps, will fit a makeup light, and prioritise a more powerful shower and a larger TV when we upgrade (Being electric the shower is not affected by water pressure). Your lovely comments on the great location, stunning views, how ideal it was for your dog, and how well equipped and stocked the lodge is are appreciated. It is important to us that guests’ enjoy their stay, and we work hard to make the lodge spotlessly clean, cosy and comfortable. It was rotten luck that you had such awful weather, When I welcomed you, you said you were delighted with the lodge, so the bad weather clearly spoiled your holiday and influenced your review.

I was surprised by the negative feed back, it is the first we have received in a long time. Had you been luckier with the weather I am confident it would have been otherwise, but I hope those looking to book the lodge will consider your comments in the context of our other excellent TripAdvisor reviews who describe the lodge as warm and cosy and the stove as “amazing” (June 17, 2015). Virtually every one of our guests leave feedback in our Visitor Book saying how delighted they were by the lodge (I am happy to send copies of these on request).

I assure you, I would have done everything I could to make you comfortable during your stay had you contacted me and given me the opportunity. I can only conclude that a modest, compact, wooden lodge was just not the most suitable accommodation for someone with expectations of light, bright interiors, big TV, wi-fi, power shower, heated drying room, and central heating. As our website does not promote the lodge as having any of these, it seems to have been a strange choice. The location, and homestead style feel of the lodge attracts guests who appreciate a simpler way of life, the outdoors and outdoor living, scenic surroundings, nature, and wildlife. As our wonderful reviews in the visitor book our other TripAdvisor reviews attest, it’s appeal is as a sanctuary away from the modern world.

I hope you have better weather for your next holiday.
Kindest regards
Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithIren...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy cabin with beautiful views”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a week here and had a lovely relaxing time. There is everything provided to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The cabin is a little gem and the log burner makes it so cosy on a cold night. Lots of walks nearby and Kippford village, which is so pretty, is a short walk away. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review, it is much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, we think the lodge is pretty special so it's always nice to hear that our guests do also. The walks around here are so varied, with coastal, beach, forest and hill walks on the doorstep. It sounds like you made the most of your stay. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill B
Oldham Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing in a lovely setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We usually stay in a local B & B but it was full but staying here was not disappointing. It was warm, cosy and so quiet. The style of accommodation suited the scenery perfectly and although there were a couple of other cabins around they blended in well giving the impression that we were alone. The surrounding area provides superb walking and we had a few days where did not use the car. Local pubs provide nice refreshment and Dalbeattie has everything you need for preparing breakfasts. The balcony was a great spot for watching the wide variety of birds and off course the red squirrel performing great antics to reach the nuts we had put out. With glass of wine in hand again the balcony was the perfect spot to admire the scenery and the estuary in the evening. We hope to return to this great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Great that the red squirrels put in an appearance. They are very fond of sunflower seeds. The last guests saw three and are convinced they prefer a particular radio station as they always turned up on the feeders when it was on! We look forward to making you feel welcome again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing