We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home in lovely surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property
Kipplochan Lodge awaits you ..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kipplochan Lodge awaits you ..
Lobby Expansive open plan sitting ,dining and kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Kipplochan Lodge awaits you ..
Lobby
Expansive open plan sitting ,dining and kitchen area
Relax ... kipplochan is fully equipt for all your culinary needs.. including cookery books !
Dine in style at Kipplochan
Al-fresco dining on the front decking served from our gas bbq
Full sky HD movie and sports package , arcam sound system, misson speakers, xbox 360 games console
Enjoy views from master bedroom of private garden and 40 inch HD freesat tv.
Free wifi throughout Kipplochan
Large master ensuite with double shower
Twin room 1
We are family friendly ...(teddy came too)
Family bathroom
Kippford
The picturesque and tranquil village of Kippford.
Passing storm. Kippford.
Sandyhills beach.
Sweetheart Abbey, New Abbey.
The river Urr estuary and Rough Island bird sanctuary.
7 stanes mountain biking on you're doorstep
Twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our experience was a home from home cozy and comfortable cabin - it is advertised as a luxury log cabin and sometimes this is down to interpretation however on this occasion I am pleased to say that I would totally agree with the advertisement.

The location is quiet and if you enjoy long walks and cozy evenings this is the place for you.

Would definitely return - enjoyed very much.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GillianG4...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place to visit. The log cabin is 5 star and fully equiped with everything you need and more for a lovely relaxing break away. We would highly recomend Kipplochan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CAROL D
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away fromm Home”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Boked this cabin for myself, hubby and four friends plus my best friend my staffie Levi. On arrival gaining access to the property was easy and once inside I was surprised at hoe spacious the living, dining and kitchen area were. Even in November the lodge was cosy and welcoming after a hard days drinking down at the Anchor in Kippford. The cost for six adults sharing in very reasonable as this includes a sky package on tv, Wi-Fi and gas and electric. Will defo return and for me and my friends it would be perfect to go in the winter and it would be snowing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding and the surrounding area especiay for dogs lots of long walks.
Liked least: Having to leave!!!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamie f
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of kippford magic”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Have stayed here 6 times in last 12 months, we prefer it keeps secret and no one else books.

Seriously its all we wanted and the little gifts and special touches from Wendy make all the difference and we feel welcome from the second we step inside.

There is something special and magic about this part of the world and staying here encompasses that.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thank you for your kind review ! I really enjoy making kipplochan special. I am delighted it works it's magic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick_L65
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and very spacious lodge”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lodge is in a great location in a small, secluded area with all the lodges around a small pond, peaceful and tranquil with plenty of privacy.

The lodge is very nice and plenty of room for 6 people (we spent a long weekend away for my son's 18th Birthday which went great) with all mod cons you could wish for including sky tv, xbox etc...plus handy gas BBQ which was used as the weather was lovely.
The only thing I would say which I have mentioned to the owner via email is that it could do with a bit of TLC in places especially the outside where the decking is worn, decking fences the paint is pealing, outside table/chairs old and worn with new covers needed etc....as this would then bring it back to a 5* standard.

We went out and about in the area as know it quite well from previous visits to this area and there is plenty to do, see, lovely beaches etc...

The village is nice and we had a nice meal in the Mariner Hotel which is a short 10 min walk from the lodge.

All in all a lovely lodge, location etc...with just the minor points mentioned to improve it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, tranquility and nice size lodge with all mod cons.
Liked least: Maintenance needed outside for decking area, tables/chairs etc...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing