We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home.”
other travelers have booked this property
Birchlea Lodge, Kippford, overlooks a pretty lochan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birchlea Lodge, Kippford, overlooks a pretty lochan
Birchlea Lodge is well placed for the sun Kitchen, Birchlea Lodge. Full electric oven & hob. Microwave. Full size fridge/freezer. Dishwash
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Birchlea Lodge, Kippford, overlooks a pretty lochan
Birchlea Lodge is well placed for the sun
Kitchen, Birchlea Lodge. Full electric oven & hob. Microwave. Full size fridge/freezer. Dishwash
Two spacious comfortable twin bedrooms, Birchlea Lodge. This shows 1 of them
Fully centrally heated, Birchlea is cosy even in the snow
Warm & cosy Christmas at Birchlea Lodge. We will even supply the Christmas tree!
Lounge, Birchlea Lodge
Aerial view of the estuary at Kippford
BIrchlea Lodge, with garden surround and views to Galloway Hills
View from The Muckle, Jubilee Path, Kippford
Rough Firth, Kippford. Lovely place for a walk
Fully modern kitchen; stylish dining area in Birchlea Lodge.
En-suite shower-room, Birchlea Lodge. There is also a bathroom with shower o/bath
Birchlea, in a landscaped site with garden & fenced in pond
Sandyhills beach (3 miles)
Kippford - popular for yachting
One of the popular pubs on a summer's evening by the sea-front
Rough Firth, Kippford looking towards Rough Island. One of the many gentle walks near Birchlea Lodge
Kippford sunset
Shell Beach, Kippford. Very popular with children - full of white cockle shells
Dalbeattie Forest is yards from Birchlea - 7Stanes Mountain Biking Trails, walks & gentle cycling
Caerlaverock Castle, Glencaple, nr Dumfries. Scotland's only triangular castle!
Galloway Activity Centre, Loch Ken has lots of fun things to try, off & on the loch
Sandyhills beach
End beach, Kippford. A favourite walk along the coastal Rough Firth path leads here
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frank M
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful, well equipped lodge in a picturesque area. Throughly enjoyed our stay. Comfortable and spacious.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
Thank you, we're very glad you had a great stay at Birchlea! Thanks again for booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaangus...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Nice lodge in a lovely location that my family know well.
The mattresses could all do with updating as we're very uncomfortable. Lodge does have everything you need which is great but could do with a little spring clean.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Thank you for booking with us & taking the time to send feedback- we are glad that you liked the lodge & location. Since your stay (& the people just before you, who also mentioned the double bed was hard) we have replaced the mattresses that were not already new with ortho mattresses, as we like to keep Birchlea well maintained. Thanks again for booking Birchlea! Lynn & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyJacks...
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a fantastic long weekend here, great accommodation, very clean and well maintained, it exceeded our expectations. Great communication from the owners and good value. The only negative was the double bed was rock hard but maybe that's just my personal taste so happy to let that go. The location is a ten minute walk down hill to Kippford where you can get a nice meal at the Mariner pub and walk along to the shell beach and the Path to Rockcliffe. When we come to the area again we'd be very happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2016
Thank you for your kind review & we're glad you had a good weekend and would be delighted to welcome you back! Since your stay we have replaced the double bed mattress so we hope it won't be so hard if you do come back! Thanks for the tips about the village as it is a great help for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamilton...
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet, relaxed comfortable lodge. Beautiful area to visit for all ages”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Good time had by all. Beautiful scenery and friendly folks. Kipp Paddock is quiet and lodge was lovely. Great to watch and listen to the wild life. Good walks for the dogs and Sandyhills beach was a great attraction for the young grandchildren

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
We are very glad that you had a good stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for your helpful tips for future visitors. Thanks again for booking Birchlea!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Y
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful immaculate lodge in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thank you once again Lynn and Kevin for the wonderful peaceful stay Henry and I both had.the lodge was immaculately clean ,and Lynn and Kevin could not do enough for us.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings and a very comfortable stay.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Thank you for your very kind review - it was lovely to see you. Apologies for late response, only just realised we could reply!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Traveller...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“PAWESOME!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We wanted to take our new pooch on holiday with us and found this recommended by the Dugsnpubs Website. What a great find. First off the lodge is brilliant. Although you don't meet the owner as it is a key safe we still felt really welcomed. Everything had been thought about even fresh flowers and super biscuits! The lodge was spotless and huge. If there are 6 of you staying then you would still have space. The grounds in the paddock are lovely. There were a couple of red squirrels around, rabbits and even a little lake. It is only a ten minute walk into the main bit of the town where there are a couple of super pubs. The Mariner and Anchor are both dog friendly as well. Loads of fantastic places to walk all around and there is also great wifi connection so you can upload all your holiday pics.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Feeling welcomed and being able to take our dog.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing