We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Ranked #2 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Anchor Hotel is beautifully situated on the shore line at Kipford and has all the atmosphere of a village country pub. The food is exactly what one would expect and the prices normal. We had the Haddock and chips, nice crispy batter and fresh crispy chips. Staff very friendly and offer a smiling welcome which is always nice. Not a place I will rush back to but certainly not a place to avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had 2 meals here last week. Although the pub was very busy we were served quickly, even after being warned there was a 20 minute delay. the food was hot, served by pleasant young staff. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it.
Due to being busy, the tables could have been cleared a little quicker, but no complaints really as staff did clear as soon as able. Expensive - ish, but seemed to be the going rate for the area, especially with the excellent view!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rally5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked a family room a week in advance online via LateRooms.com for £70 per night bed and breakfast for myself and 2 kids. Room was very comfortable and well equipped - Tv, kettle, hair dryer and iron etc - shower pressure was a bit light but overall more than happy with it .

Breakfast was superb with a wide choice and a friendly waitress happy to let the kids pick and choose what they did and didn't want.

Also ate there one night with our extended family (13 of us booked in at last minute) - again a lovely meal at reasonable cost. Decent selection of beers and wines available.

A lovely stay in a nice hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Default190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went down a run along the Solway Coast to have a bar meal at the Anchor Hotel. Heard a lot about it so a visit was overdue. Hotel car park was full and the outside eating area was the same. Looks promising we thought? Sadly the meal was pretty average. Prices were above average but we still enjoyed our day as the run down, weather and scenery was lovely. The Solway Coast takes a bit of beating on a nice day.
Will visit the Anchor again sometime but only for a refreshment. Kippford itself is well worth a visit just to see the harbour area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in Room 6 from which we could see boats gently bobbing in the estuary,it's a nice quiet place so got a good night's sleep..The full Scottish breakfast is enormous so probably best to choose your favourite elements and order only those -very tasty.The haggis was delightful on the first morning but a little too well done on the second.There was good attention to detail e.g. bottled water left in the room as well as the hospitality tray but not enough milk pots -- we find this everywhere.Our evening meals were nice enough, we drank in the bar and found the staff both there and in the restaurant polite and pleasant.The location is excellent- there is a lovely walk to Rockcliffe and many other places to explore nearby.Sharon is friendly and enthiusiastic and we certainly would return.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 454chimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed whilst visiting family near-by. Weather was poor so very quiet. Single room was adequate & spacious for a single. A few minor issues in the bathroom that required attention. Heating was a small portable electric heater, The room may be cool if cold outside.

Breakfast was enormous, served by pleasant staff. Cannot comment on food during the day as I was away working with family.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After a nice walk along the footpath at Kippford we stopped at the Anchor Hotel for food. We ordered pizza off the kids menu for the kids in the group and they were actually served up plain panninis with some melted cheese on top! We commented to the waitress that the food served should reflect what is stated on the menu. We felt as if we'd be conned. Cans of soft drinks were served warm as the fridge was empty. The adults had a variety of dishes which were unremarkable.

This hotels approach to serving food represents what you often find in rural Scotland where you get poor food quality and customer service, treating tourists/visitors as a 'one-off sale' with no real need by some 'can't be bothered' hotels/restaurants.

The bar in the hotel was busy, and looked to be a good atmosphere and but can't comment on the hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Nickocubhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippford
1 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
129 reviews
0 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
140 reviews
0 mi away
Mariner Hotel
Mariner Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kippford
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
101 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel at Kippford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Address: | Kirkcudbrightshire, Dalbeattie, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three miles south of Dalbeattie, a right hand turn down a small side road leads you to the unspoilt waterside village of Kippford, regarded by many as being the loveliest seaside village in the whole of South West Scotland. The Anchor Hotel is nestled on the banks of Urr Water as it makes its final journey into the Solway estuary. On a clear day you can even see the spectacular peaks of The Lake District. At the Anchor Hotel we have; Comfortable en-suite double, twin and family rooms all with views of the rivers. Our food menus include interesting seasonal food with fish specials as well as traditional pub favourites A great location with plenty for everyone to see and do in this beautiful part of Dumfries & Galloway. Food service times. Monday-Thursday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 6pm-8pm Friday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 5.30-8.30pm All day Saturday and Sunday 12-8.30pm We are open throughout the year and my team and I will do all we can to make your stay memorable. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in an area of natural beauty then this part of South West Scotland is perfect for you. To check room availability and rates just give us a call on 01556 620205 or check online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Hotel at Kippford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel At Kippford Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing