We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“meh! It was ok”
Review of The Mariner Hotel

The Mariner Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kippford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“meh! It was ok”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place was bigger than the Anchor, however the food was not as good and the ambiance was not there either. Prices were average. It was ok.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chunkyweemidgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    59
    23
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don' t bother - They don't”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Considered booking a room here but glad we didn’t after meal fiasco.

Wonderful location, someone bothered about their business could make a fortune here, but not these people.

Starter came pretty quickly, but it was cold so would probably had been ready prepared.
Stupid boy then brought two meals, one was cod, which we had ordered but his was in breadcrumbs and we had ordered battered (cost more too!!) He told us “sold out of battered” so this was accepted but was like any frozen bread crumbed fish. He also had a prawn dish and was anxious to get rid of it. The lady on the next table said she had ordered prawn cocktail and was duly served with it, commenting on the size of the portion.

Then a woman, I think was the owner, arrived with two starters for the next table (one prawn cocktail) and was obviously annoyed that the customer had put condiments on the prawn salad, she had been served incorrectly, so it had to be given in place of a prawn cocktail.

Quite some time later; the fish was almost eaten, (told husband to eat it before it got cold). My spinach cannelloni arrived, barley warm, it had obviously been sitting for some time. Very mediocre. Obviously a microwave meal.

We were not asked if we enjoyed our meal, we needed anything else etc. Just given the meal. Prices charged were correct for what we got ie what they could be bothered to serve.
.
The number in the place at the time was approximately 15. It was 6.30pm on Sunday of Glasgow Bank Holiday weekend. Speaks for itself.

Oh, and the veg was carrots & peas mixed!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab Find!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on the 14.09.13 to celebrate our wedding anniversary very relaxed atmosphere and what a beautiful place!!! very friendly helpful staff, a lovely double room with a very clean en suite shower room we ate down the road at the Anchor which was very nice especially sat outside with the gorgeous view! slept like a log in the lovely quiet room and woke to enjoy one of the bed full breakfasts we have had in a long time! all in all a wonderful stay we will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 237shelleysteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious soup with a wonderful view!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We always eat at the Mariners when we visit Kippford. The view is fantastic and the food is simple but well cooked and plenty of it. I always have the soup and its consistently delicious. The staff are welcoming, they don't mind if you bring your dogs inside which is a bonus for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyWorksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good veiws from bay windows”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good food served quickly. Quite expensive, but seemed same in area. Large portions and tasty. Pub quiet on a Wed evening but comfortable and clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rally5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mariner Hotel also viewed

Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Sandyhills, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Mariner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing