We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Find!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mariner Hotel

The Mariner Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kippford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab Find!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on the 14.09.13 to celebrate our wedding anniversary very relaxed atmosphere and what a beautiful place!!! very friendly helpful staff, a lovely double room with a very clean en suite shower room we ate down the road at the Anchor which was very nice especially sat outside with the gorgeous view! slept like a log in the lovely quiet room and woke to enjoy one of the bed full breakfasts we have had in a long time! all in all a wonderful stay we will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 237shelleysteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    56
    22
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious soup with a wonderful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We always eat at the Mariners when we visit Kippford. The view is fantastic and the food is simple but well cooked and plenty of it. I always have the soup and its consistently delicious. The staff are welcoming, they don't mind if you bring your dogs inside which is a bonus for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyWorksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good veiws from bay windows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good food served quickly. Quite expensive, but seemed same in area. Large portions and tasty. Pub quiet on a Wed evening but comfortable and clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rally5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good food but lacks presentation at times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ate here with my family and had a good meal. Food was nice but lacked presentation - boiled peas and carrots and salad on the side apart from the salads which look amazing, clearly more time and effort going into the preparation of these. My husband had the 'large fresh haddock" which looked like it had been simply cut off from another piece of fish as if to split the large fillet into two but still very tasty all the same. Portions smaller than we've had on previous occasions and would say overpriced for the amount of food on the plate. Our waitress had a nice smile, clearly more experienced than the other waiting staff who didnt even ask the couple beside us if they enjoyed the food! We were lucky as the service we received was very good. Left a tip at the bar but unsure as to whether the waiting staff would've received this or not. In future I'll give it to the waitress herself. Dessert menu was poor, nothing looked homemade so decided to pass on these. Whole menu could do with updating but food quality still good. Will eat here again but hopefully the portion sizes will be back to normal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chair1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food near Kippford campsites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Within walking distance of the main Kippford campsites. Good portions of tasty pub food and a top selection of bitters and largers.

Bit disappointed with the deserts after such good home made main courses as they seems to simply be microwaved ready deserts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ph4wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mariner Hotel also viewed

Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Sandyhills, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Mariner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing