We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portions that filled you up!”

The Anchor Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kippford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

We ate here with friends and family for the last night of our week in Kippford. Nearly all of us ate from the specials board and everyone enjoyed their food. The wine was reasonably priced too. It was good pub food.

Thank kreynolds89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

'Good Pub Food' - thank you- that's we aim for, and glad you had a great time with us. Hope you will be back in the area again. Best wishes from the Anchor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 376 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

Called in for a quick drink to dry off. This is a dog friendly pub, thankfully. We were served quickly with drinks and found both staff and locals friendly. Drinks were priced averagedly.

Thank SassyArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - much appreciated. Yes we love dogs - hope to see you again. Best wishes from the Anchor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

We come back to Kippford year after year staying at the holiday park up the road. We love to walk to Rockcliffe and then call at the Anchor on the way back, it's tradition!
This year I was feeling rather dubious given recent reviews, and had even considered eating out elsewhere (not the Mariner), however its tradition right, so we had to give it a go. Whilst I agree with other reviews the bar area tables need a good sand, stain and varnish and decor a bit of TLC and freshen up, importantly we enjoyed our food as much as any other year.
The side salad and coleslaw was fresh, the main meal hot and tasty as always. We did order 3 sizzler dishes, however someone needs to tell the chef these are meant to come out sizzling! The steak dish wasn't even on a sizzling hot plate. However all dishes tasted lovely. We also had pudding, the portion sizes were huge.
As long as the food standard remain we will definitely return.

Thank Pdiddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Hello there and thank you for coming back! - Appreciate the feedback and I'll pass it on to the chefs. We do try to make sure everyone has a great experience and its been interesting the different comments we have been getting the last couple of months. Thank you for trusting us and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Kippford is such a lovely place but to find somewhere to eat in the evening is not easy. This establishment was dreadful the tables were dirty and sticky and the whole place was dingy it needed a complete refurb. The meal was awful the vegetables were old and not edible.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank ethel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Hello and thank you for your review. I hope you brought your concerns to our attention at the time. We always try to make sure guests have a pleasurable experience with us. Its disappointing you did not. Your comments will be shared with the team. Kind regards from the Anchor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

Been here many times over the years but could be so much better. Called with some friends after a walk and was disappointed that there was an abundance of wasps around the outside tables. The flowers around the main entrance need some tlc. It's a bit shabby.

I was the designated driver so asked for a hot Chocolate. It was lacking in Chocolate and tepid. I took it back to the bar and after an age was served. The hot chocolate was heated up quite quickly to my satisfaction.

Lovely setting but needs to up its game given the competition

2  Thank Clachangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Hello and thank you for your review. I will make sure your comments are passed on, and glad that we sorted your drink, but it should have been right first time. Thank you from the Anchor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Sandyhills, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Anchor Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing