We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great seafood”

The Anchor Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Kippford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We sat outside overlooking the Kippford estuary. Lovely puds, decent menu and the emphasis on seafood

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    115
    48
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great nosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently had a weekend break at kippford & dined at the Anchor. The place was heaving which was a great sign & what a yummy meal. Definitely recommend the food, really fresh & tasty & the staff very helpful & friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
725 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Two families together for weekend away, lunch on a glorious Saturday sitting outdside in sunshine. Great service [with a smile]. Good value food with gargantuan portions! Daily specials board full of interesting dishes. If in Kippford, this is the place for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“welcoming pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had lunch, dinner and drinks here during our stay at Kippford. It was always busy. Food was pub grub but better quality as they had fresh produce, locally sourced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Anchor : Paradise in Kippford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently had a holiday in Kippford and enjoyed several meals at The Anchor. Super venue, (on the Urr Estuary), excellent cuisine and first class "mine hosts". Our experience was enhanced by the magnificent weather. Hot and dry!

We would thoroughly recommend The Anchor to discerning holidaymakers who seek a traditional pub/inn/restaurant in glorious surroundings.

For our part, we will return. Hopefully, sooner rather than later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jallan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Sandyhills, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Anchor Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing