We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crewe Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went in for a few pints on Christmas Eve, The bar service and the bar staff were excellent.

We were welcomed with a warm alcoholic punch, and stuck around for a while. The staff were very friendly. The whole hotel has improved 100% with the new management team.

We were so impressed we are now booking our 50th birthday party there.

Keep up all the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    15
    11
    23
See reviews for
19
43
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

When I appeared at the Crewe arms I was quite amazed at what I found, the staff welcomed me with open arms it made me feel very secure and also they helped me with booking rooms and meals with them, they mentioned that there was entertainment on a Friday and a Saturday so I thought I might Aswell see the outcome and to be honest I enjoyed it! They had DJ's on a Friday and a live band on Saturday. I then stayed one more night due to some errands that had to be attended to in the morning and the breakfast was very good I could choose out of a free continental or a full English breakfast which I didn't mind paying extra for, money well spent! I must say well done indeed. Keep up the good work guys I will defiantly keep in touch.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creweymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We had sunday lunch at the hotel and itwas fantastic,the service by the staff made us feel at home.The owners are working very hard to improve the status of the Crewe Arms.My husband went to the bar and was talking to a couple of the locals and had nothing but praise to the new owners,who have given them entertainment throughout the weekend the owner showed us the rooms and were of high class,we were so made up with the place we have booked a table for ten on boxing day and a couple of the hotel rooms to.Keep up the standard and all the hard work you deserve to go forward.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Myself, husband and 3 year old son stopped here on our way from Glasgow to Kent and found a very warm welcome.Sue the owner couldn't have been more helpful making us a fresh coffee on arrival. The business has only recently been taken over and the owners have updated the deocr. Lovely clean and spacious room.

It has an advantage of a bar and restaurant attached meaning we were able to eat in comfort.

This is a pet friendly hotel.


Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Room was clean but freezing cold because radiators turned off at night. They're broken said the man sent to fix it. Can you fix it? No I can't. He disappears. Broken eh? My eye. Saving money more like. The radiators came on in the morning all right. It was a good price for the room but here's the sour taste. We had the cooked breakfast as we thought it was all-in. We weren't told of an extra charge. Cooked breakfast had a lot of beans (surprise, surprise, cheapest thing on the plate) micro-bacon and sausage containing some sort of possible meat. My wife didn't really want it. When I left, they were into me for a fiver each surcharge for the cooked breakfast - the Dick Turpin special. Naughty, naughty. Tell the punters upfront please. Silly thing to do really because it totally put me off!

Room Tip: Continental breakfast only folks....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hillarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madeley hotels

NEWCASTLE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to The Crewe Arms for a treat for a meal which was not suitable or fit for a dog!! My self and partner struggled to eat this meal.. raw and frozen food isn't my ideal of a meal!! the staff well should is say 1 member of staff what was on that night was very un helpful and never even asked us why we hadn't eaten are meal!! we waited 40 mins for the bill till in the end we went to the bar and asked!! what a waste of £28... The girl that was on had only been matter of days and she told use she was on her own so nobody in charge to complain to so I emailed when I got home and had no reply this was june time!! I have since had negaitive report from lots of people!!!! stay away from here if you don't want to be disappointed!!! shame on you! this is such a shame as it used to have great feed back from lots!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FIONA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We turned up without a booking on a busy Saturday evening. They went out of their way to accommodate us. We chose specials from the Specials Board and were not disappointed. Food and service was very good. Beer good too !!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tkota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
4.2 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
741 reviews
19.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#1 of 1 in Onneley
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe Arms Hotel

Property: The Crewe Arms Hotel
Address: Wharf Terrace | Madeley Heath, Madeley CW3 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crewe Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crewe Arms is situated on the outskirts of Newcastle under Lyme in the quiet village of Madeley Heath. Only a 10 minute drive from the M6 junction 15 and minutes away from Keele University. We have 10 letting rooms which have just been refurbished, all with:- En-suite bathrooms Flat Screen TVs with Freeview Free Wifi in public areas Tea,Coffee and Biscuits in the room Free Car Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crewe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe Arms Hotel Madeley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing