We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get your own coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crewe Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
halifax
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“get your own coffee”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

i recently stayed at this hotel,its an old hotel and is being refurbed,the price is ok for bed and breakfast and the staff are very helpful.a bug bear was the breakfast,the food was great but
you have to get your own coffee,it wasn't caffetiered it was water in a flask and a bowl with instant coffee in it.i don't mind getting my own, but should be better displayed i.e caffitiere
also a better toaster(industrial)wouldn't go a miss.overall i enjoyed my stay.i think with a couple of improvements it would be even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titusaducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    15
    11
    23
See reviews for
19
44
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pleasant enough in general and inexpensive, though the morning coffee I found undrinkable. But the manager was extremely unpleasant, even hostile, and to be avoided. Suggest you look elsewhere at some wonderful local alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakespeare357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madeley hotels

Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

the hotel is tired,and needs a small refurb,but overall its quite nice.the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.food is nice ,but the restaurant isnt open.breakfast is nice a small buffet and its hot.for the money it was well worth it,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfretwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The good news is that you can bring drinks from the pub to your room. The bad news is that you're going to need them.

It's not so much that it's rough around the edges and the plumbing / electrics are dodgy. The musty smell in the hallway is also not so bad. You can always take your valuables with you, so no worries if the windows don't really close let alone lock.

The main problem I encountered was a completely hostile manager--the other staff were quite pleasant, even when they entered my locked room while I was trying to sleep.

The price seems right but you can find cheaper (check out the uni), cleaner, and more cheerful right next door.

Room Tip: go elsewhere!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJC1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here for one night prior to going on a course at Keele University. I found the hotel room to be very comfortable and quiet and well presented for a 2 star establishment. Everything you needed was there - tea & coffee, small toiletries, comfy bed and a large TV. The breakfast was very very good with a selection of cereals and good cooked options. All in all, this was a lovely wee hotel, at a good price with comfortable rooms and good food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were so pleased with this accommadation, receiving a very warm welcome on arrival, the room/ensuite was spacious, clean and comfortable, large TV/internet access. The Staff were excellent, couldn't do enough for us, the food was to die for, large portions and very reasonabley priced, all local produce and homemade, Deserts were abolutely fabulous,unfortunately we were only staying one night on our way to Cornwall, would have liked to stayed longer.
On the return journey we arrived at 11am, our room was ready for us and the Manager kindly let us in early, which he was not obligated to do. If we are travelling this way again we would certainly stay again, Plenty of parking space, can not say enough good things about The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant, a big Thank you to you all for making our short stays so pleasant, EXCELLENT :)

Room Tip: We were in room 1 on both stays, I know all rooms were recently decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theworkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Not sure where the last reviewer stayed as our experience was completely opposite, The welcome from the staff on arrival was warm and friendly, our room was clean and well furnished. The restaurant food was of good quality and well priced, the waiting staff friendly and helpful, Breakfast was also good, fresh and hot. I can not praise the staff enough for their help and attention. We will stay again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
4.2 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
532 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
768 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe Arms Hotel

Property: The Crewe Arms Hotel
Address: Wharf Terrace | Madeley Heath, Madeley CW3 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crewe Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crewe Arms is situated on the outskirts of Newcastle under Lyme in the quiet village of Madeley Heath. Only a 10 minute drive from the M6 junction 15 and minutes away from Keele University. We have 10 letting rooms which have just been refurbished, all with:- En-suite bathrooms Flat Screen TVs with Freeview Free Wifi in public areas Tea,Coffee and Biscuits in the room Free Car Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crewe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe Arms Hotel Madeley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing