We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B near to Keele University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crewe Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B near to Keele University”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here for one night prior to going on a course at Keele University. I found the hotel room to be very comfortable and quiet and well presented for a 2 star establishment. Everything you needed was there - tea & coffee, small toiletries, comfy bed and a large TV. The breakfast was very very good with a selection of cereals and good cooked options. All in all, this was a lovely wee hotel, at a good price with comfortable rooms and good food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    15
    11
    23
See reviews for
19
43
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were so pleased with this accommadation, receiving a very warm welcome on arrival, the room/ensuite was spacious, clean and comfortable, large TV/internet access. The Staff were excellent, couldn't do enough for us, the food was to die for, large portions and very reasonabley priced, all local produce and homemade, Deserts were abolutely fabulous,unfortunately we were only staying one night on our way to Cornwall, would have liked to stayed longer.
On the return journey we arrived at 11am, our room was ready for us and the Manager kindly let us in early, which he was not obligated to do. If we are travelling this way again we would certainly stay again, Plenty of parking space, can not say enough good things about The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant, a big Thank you to you all for making our short stays so pleasant, EXCELLENT :)

Room Tip: We were in room 1 on both stays, I know all rooms were recently decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theworkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Not sure where the last reviewer stayed as our experience was completely opposite, The welcome from the staff on arrival was warm and friendly, our room was clean and well furnished. The restaurant food was of good quality and well priced, the waiting staff friendly and helpful, Breakfast was also good, fresh and hot. I can not praise the staff enough for their help and attention. We will stay again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here as it was the perfect halfway point while doing the Newcastle Way (long distance walk) in 2 days. Unfortunately this is the last time the word perfect will be used.
The management were very unwelcoming, (maybe they do not appreciate walkers in their hotel).
The room was spacious, but poorly furnished with very cheap poorly made furniture, the bed creaked unbelievably just to sit on it, the slightest movement in the night woke the other person (to be fair, all that was needed was the bolts tightening).
The Bathroom, had a very musty smell and was grimy, this was not helped by the only window, opening directly into the Kitchen (if it could have been opened) there were bottles stored on the window cill inside the Kitchen, this was made even worse by the fact that there was no extractor fan at all, so a simple shower ended up like a visit to a steam room.
On requesting a meal in the restaurant in the evening we were told that we had to have it at an early time and order from a limited menu as they were busy and did not want to fit us in, (we went to the other pub down the road and had an excellent meal in their very modern restaurant).
In conclusion, if we could have stayed anywhere else, we would have done, I have never left such a negative review before in my life.

Room Tip: Nothing I can say really, it's all as listed above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madeley hotels

cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were travelling back home from the south of France but as we had managed to get on the Eurotunel 4 hours early, we were going to be home to soon. We had freinds staying over, house/animal sitting so we decided to find a B&B near by that would allow our dog too.
We googled and found The Crewe Arms at Madeley Heath nr Keele which was perfect as we were at Keele servise's at the time. What a perfect place, they had a room left, a family room with king size bed and single, en-suit and allowed our dog for £55 that night.
We had a wonderful welcome from the staff and the place was packed, everyone looked as if they were enjoying their evening there and all the plates of the diners were clean so the food must of been good too. We just crashed to be honest but the room was so comfortable, the bed was perfect and a big roomy bathroom.
We had recieved a great welcome from the minute we rang up, especially as we were just turning up on a saturday night with a dog. We did not eat breakfast as we had slept longer than planned and still needed to continue or journey. We were met at the desk by a very friendly gentleman who was serving breakfast.
Our one night stay was perfect, the place was so quiet and in a very pretty village, the room was large and well stocked, even the coffee/tea tray was over flowing. A wonderful place that we would recommend to anyone, we would loved to of stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room 3, it was a big room with large bathroom, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artictruckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

I think one of your reviews is about a different Crewe Arms! This one is friendly and welcoming with courteous and helpful staff. We had a 'family' room which cost no more than a standard double. Breakfast was leisurely and very filling.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardjohnston50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

In August 2008 my husband and I drove from Hungary to Edinburgh, Scotland in order to bring our dog into the UK due to the strict laws on the transport of animals into the UK. We were in the area of Newcastle-upon-Lyme when we realised it was getting late so we decided to stop for the night. We asked at two other hotels which were all booked up before arriving at The Crewe Arms Hotel.
They willingly took us and our dog in. The hotel has English historical charm. It was a reasonable price of £65. The room was clean and well appointed. The service was polite and helpful. We ate at the bar instead of the restaurant as the bar had an outdoor area where we could take the dog with us. The food at the bar was very good. It was much better than what one would expect from a bar. The locals at the bar were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a nice chat with many of them. We took our dog for a walk around the neighbourhood which was beautiful English countryside with a small forest, sheep and a small river.
All in all we were very happy at The Crewe Arms Hotel, especially since they were so dog friendly which is not easy to find. We would definitely stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielletrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
4.2 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Old Hall Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe Arms Hotel

Property: The Crewe Arms Hotel
Address: Wharf Terrace | Madeley Heath, Madeley CW3 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crewe Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crewe Arms is situated on the outskirts of Newcastle under Lyme in the quiet village of Madeley Heath. Only a 10 minute drive from the M6 junction 15 and minutes away from Keele University. We have 10 letting rooms which have just been refurbished, all with:- En-suite bathrooms Flat Screen TVs with Freeview Free Wifi in public areas Tea,Coffee and Biscuits in the room Free Car Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crewe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe Arms Hotel Madeley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing