We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking....PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crewe Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were travelling back home from the south of France but as we had managed to get on the Eurotunel 4 hours early, we were going to be home to soon. We had freinds staying over, house/animal sitting so we decided to find a B&B near by that would allow our dog too.
We googled and found The Crewe Arms at Madeley Heath nr Keele which was perfect as we were at Keele servise's at the time. What a perfect place, they had a room left, a family room with king size bed and single, en-suit and allowed our dog for £55 that night.
We had a wonderful welcome from the staff and the place was packed, everyone looked as if they were enjoying their evening there and all the plates of the diners were clean so the food must of been good too. We just crashed to be honest but the room was so comfortable, the bed was perfect and a big roomy bathroom.
We had recieved a great welcome from the minute we rang up, especially as we were just turning up on a saturday night with a dog. We did not eat breakfast as we had slept longer than planned and still needed to continue or journey. We were met at the desk by a very friendly gentleman who was serving breakfast.
Our one night stay was perfect, the place was so quiet and in a very pretty village, the room was large and well stocked, even the coffee/tea tray was over flowing. A wonderful place that we would recommend to anyone, we would loved to of stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room 3, it was a big room with large bathroom, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artictruckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

I think one of your reviews is about a different Crewe Arms! This one is friendly and welcoming with courteous and helpful staff. We had a 'family' room which cost no more than a standard double. Breakfast was leisurely and very filling.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardjohnston50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

In August 2008 my husband and I drove from Hungary to Edinburgh, Scotland in order to bring our dog into the UK due to the strict laws on the transport of animals into the UK. We were in the area of Newcastle-upon-Lyme when we realised it was getting late so we decided to stop for the night. We asked at two other hotels which were all booked up before arriving at The Crewe Arms Hotel.
They willingly took us and our dog in. The hotel has English historical charm. It was a reasonable price of £65. The room was clean and well appointed. The service was polite and helpful. We ate at the bar instead of the restaurant as the bar had an outdoor area where we could take the dog with us. The food at the bar was very good. It was much better than what one would expect from a bar. The locals at the bar were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a nice chat with many of them. We took our dog for a walk around the neighbourhood which was beautiful English countryside with a small forest, sheep and a small river.
All in all we were very happy at The Crewe Arms Hotel, especially since they were so dog friendly which is not easy to find. We would definitely stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielletrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

i went to stay at this hotel whist visiting family to try and make it a holiday aswell i surpose at first i was fine with the out of date funiture it made it more homley i surpose but after one night it was all tured around after dangers and faults galore a trouser press fell off the wall and nearly hit my foot the exstetion cable was hanging aroud just waiting for an accident which of coarse the kettle was attached to. The worst thing about this hotel was that when i dropped my wallet near the wardrobe i saw something under it and being curious i fished it out to my surprise it was a 40+ porn magazine my partner was shocked so after this being the final straw i went to the front desk to speak to the manger about this hoping in some way i could be compensated for this incredbly bad hotel exsperience but all i fund was a rude, unhelpful show of poor cutomer service (which may i add know about as i am a manger of a store myself) she then tryed to say that the magazine was mine and only offered me 1 nights refund. These other reviews are written by the hotel staff/manger becuase i wouldnt even let them pay me to stay there.
WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU ARE A COCKROACH
(even though they may be disappointed)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baileymatthew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

If you want to stay in the area it is a good cheap choice. I think it is rated at two stars, the room was clean and handy for the restaurant & bar. For a Thursday night the restaurant was very busy serving locals who clearly went there often. The staff were friendly, the food good with a wide choice and a good bar too. Holiday Inn it is not, but that was not what I wanted. Loads of free parking, always a welcome point.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCountryHawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Me & a friend stayed here at the beginning of Sept 08, before heading on to Alton Towers. It's clean, tidy and convenient, certainly beat the Travel Lodge we were originally planning to stay at.

The Bar was nice, good food & beer - what more do you want?!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JMio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Поближе к ресепшен возможно интернет есть
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
4.1 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
556 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#1 of 1 in Onneley
194 reviews
1 mi away
The Old Hall Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
291 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe Arms Hotel

Address: Wharf Terrace | Madeley Heath, Madeley CW3 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range: $59 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crewe Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crewe Arms is situated on the outskirts of Newcastle under Lyme in the quiet village of Madeley Heath. Only a 10 minute drive from the M6 junction 15 and minutes away from Keele University. We have 10 letting rooms which have just been refurbished, all with:- En-suite bathrooms Flat Screen TVs with Freeview Free Wifi in public areas Tea,Coffee and Biscuits in the room Free Car Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crewe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe Arms Hotel Madeley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing