We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Hall Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the old country hall for 4 weeks as I was working in the area so got to check out all of the rooms and many many breakfasts prepared by the most wonderful host, the owner Simon. The building is steeped in history but has been renovated to offer only the best that 5 star has to offer. Massive freestanding baths in the Charles and Victoria rooms or if you fancy a massive power shower also available. 4 poster beds, sheets like silk, coffee making facilities, luxury all the way. The back garden is stunning, if I ever get married it will be here. The Charles is the ideal honeymoon suite followed closely by the Margaret. Breakfast was consistently brilliant and Simons charm and excellent front of house skills is what separates this intimate Gem from the rest. Do yourself a favour, give yourself a treat, and stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara g G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! As you say you stayed with us for 4 weeks and as well as you enjoying your stay so much with us, we enjoyed meeting you and hope (know) we have become friends. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope to see you again very soon. Take care xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here last year and only just realised I hadn't written a review, (sorry guys !) A wonderful old house with fantastic gardens, where the inside is even more impressive than the outside. We stayed in the Charles II room, spacious warm and cosy with everything you could ask for including beautiful comfortable bedding, a welcome tray of sherry, chocolates and fruit and a sumptuous en-suite. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Would highly recommend this B&B which more than deserves their 5 star award. There had been a wedding at the Hall the day before we arrived but you would never have known largely due to the perfect hosts. Now if they did evening meals I would give them 6 stars (although there are a couple of nearby restaurants to choose from)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMACLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The headline says 'Perfect' yet we received only 4/5 rating which is a little disappointing for us, so we hope you can visit again and we can get that to a 5/5.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We got married here at the Old Hall on 26th October. I am not even where to begin with praising the venue and its owners, Gary and Simon. The day was perfect, there wasnt a thing that didnt go to plan due to the meticulous planning and attention to detail from Gary and Simon. They took care of everything, nothing was to much trouble for them and i was a demanding bride!!!!! ;)

The venue is absolutely stunning, it is kept to a pristine standard and the gardens and house and tended to with obvious care and pride. It felt like an honour to be married here and our guests were overwhelmed at the balance of a classy and yet relaxed venue. I would highly recommend the Old hall, it is perfect for small intimate weddings. The bedrooms are amazing, the Charles II room was just gorgeous. The attention to detail within the venue and its surroundings really is incredible and a credit to Gary and Simon themselves.

I can thank you both enough for wonderful memories of such a beautiful day. It was an honest pleasure to have shared the day with you both. Xxx Samantha and Jason Symons Xxx

Room Tip: Charles II is beautiful..... but then all of the rooms are, it is difficult to choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamSymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Wow!!!!!!! Your praise for us is making us blush! The fact you enjoyed your wedding and stay with us so much means a lot and it is perfect to hear that your guests enjoyed The Old Hall so much as well. Thank you for sharign your big day with us and stay in touch x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a wonderful place. My husband and I spent a night here as our son goes to Uni nearby.
What a charming and beautiful place, the rooms are very comfortable and full of character, the gardens are lovely, and nothing is too much trouble. Everything is tended to with love and care, and attention to detail. Thank you Simon, for looking after as and giving us such a warm welcome. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAY100_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we do hope you can visit again soon......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were due to get married on Saturday 12 October 2013 and from our very first visit to check out the Old hall as a possible venue, we fell in love with the place and it's setting!

Gary made the whole experience from initial planning to the big day run completely smoothly and was always happy to offer advice and help wherever needed - he really should be listed as a professional wedding planner!

We checked in with some family members on the night before the wedding and we're made to feel like we had upgraded to the best ever home from home possible. Simon made us feel so welcome from the start, and surrounded by such luxurious facilities and grounds we all thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay and the whole wedding from ceremony to evening reception went like a dream!

The guys also offer the best ever breakfasts, can thoroughly recommend the beautiful scramble (although the chickens in the garden deserve the credit for the freshness and flavour!) this was a real gourmet breakfast experience.

We spent our wedding night in the King Charles room - so full of character and what a comfortable bed set in the most amazing of rooms!

We would recommend The Old Hall to any couples looking to get married or just wanting a romantic and luxurious break in the countryside - whatever your reason for visiting, you will not be disappointed!

Thank you Gary and Simon (and Ann in The Old Stables who catered for our big day!) for the most memorable and amazing day we could of hoped for!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are incredible but the King Charles is definitely worth waiting for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeOBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Gary is feeling very big headed after you said he should be a 'Professional Wedding Planner' . On a serious note we are both so pleased your special day was perfect for you and that you enjoyed that and your stay with us do much.
It was a pleasure hosting your wedding and we hope to see you again very soon. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had the best 2 nights stay here while visiting family. After seeing Four in a Bed in Australia and knowing this was village that family lived in we always wanted to stay here and it truly surpassed expectations. The wonderful welcome from Simon and feeling so at home was really appreciated. The rooms are immaculate and breakfast is scrumptious, nothing is too much trouble. Our only regret was that we had to leave. Would love to return some day, Thankyou Simon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Wow, you came from Australia, saw us in Four in A bed over there and decided to stay! We're really pleased you did and that we met your expectations and you ha d a great stay.
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Old Hall is a good example of good mixture of traditional English country house and modern renovated bathroom facilities. The four poster bed with comfortable beddings provided us the best sleep during the whole trip. We found the room is not as dry as those chain hotels which probably is why we had such a good sleep there.

The hosts and the breakfast are just great, you can't ask anything more than that. The hosts take good care on services. The breakfast is served in great timing as we notice that bacon and toasts are only made when we sit down and after we had our cereals. A nice touch of good caring from the hosts.

The garden is another highlight. A typical English garden with a pond, worth taking a lot of photos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav6809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We're really pleased that the combination of personal service and the history or the Old Hall and gardens made for such a memorable stay for you.
Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
11.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
541 reviews
1 mi away
The Crewe Arms Hotel
The Crewe Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Madeley
116 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#1 of 1 in Onneley
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
296 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Country House

Address: Old Hall Poolside, Madeley CW3 9DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range: $132 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Hall Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hall Country House is in Madeley Staffordshire, close to Keele University, Stoke on Trent, Newcastle under Lyme and Nantwich. The property has been extensively refurbished and offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment. The house dates back to the 16th century and is of half timber construction, the rooms are full of beams, sloping floors and plenty of ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Country House Hotel Madeley
The Old Hall Country House Madeley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing