We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Hall Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently married at The Old Hall (29th September) and cannot praise the location, Gary and Simon enough!

We wanted a small, intimate and personal wedding day and the Old Hall was perfect for our special day. The Old Hall and gardens were spectacular and Gary and Simon as hosts were fantastic. They could not do enough for us from the minute I arrived on the Friday evening to the time we all left on the Sunday morning. They both worked extremely hard to ensure our day went smoothly - all of which was greatly appreciated and helped us to relax and enjoy every second of the day. They even let us decorate the Old Hall how we wanted it which helped to make the day more personal.

The Old Hall itself is fabulous and we booked all 3 rooms for family to stay. Each room is large and individual offering good value for money. The breakfasts are cooked fresh with a wide choice and something for everyone. The gardens are stunning and well kept and provided the perfect location for our photographs.

Gary and Simon were excellent hosts and The Old Hall is a perfect location. If you are looking for a wedding that is intimate, personal and special with wonderful hosts, look no further as you have found your place. I would definitely recommend The Old Hall to others and would not hesitate in staying with Gary and Simon again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich_edwards96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We are both so pleased you enjoyed your special day with us so much and that your guests did also, that means a lot. Sincere thanks for taking the time to share this on here x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for The Old Hall Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 295 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Simply the best !!
Visiting friends in the area and have in the past been rather dissapointed with the standards! then looking at 'TRIP ADVISOR' we found this wonderful welcoming B&.B.
We stayed in the Charles 2nd room ,the priests hole made it feel very historic as was the beautiful comfortable room. Bed linen 5* which was wonderful for a good nights sleep.Breakfast cooked fresh when
Simon and Gary are the perfect hosts ;we will return in the spring

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonismithbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for this great review, we are both really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovley to meet you both and catch up on Wickham! We're looking forward to seeing you again in the Spring. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

As a B&B owner myself, it's rare I find places up to my standards, however, Old Hall was really great in every way. Despite the many old beams & big oak framed four poster & all the nooks & crannies it was spotlessly clean everywhere. It has real old world charm with antiques & quality furniture.
We were welcomed warmly by Simon & Gary who were very helpful & we felt at home instantly. I loved the fresh milk on the well stocked tea tray. There were lots of toiletries in the large bathroom which had a separate bath and shower along with useful twin sinks.
We wandered round the lovely gardens & enjoyed seeing the chickens which helped provide eggs for the tasty breakfasts.
We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Spoil yourselves with the Charles II room - the best room but still reasonably priced.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil and Marco ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

From a B&B owner we are particularly chuffed by this review. we're both really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much and intend to come back in the future.
It will be a pleasure to see you again and thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our last day of our honeymoon & it was perfect. The staff were so friendly & welcoming. We stayed in the charles II room one word "Amazing" it was a very posh home from home. Breakfast the next day was gorgeous & all cooked fresh. We will be definitley be staying again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moggy5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are really pleased it made the perfect end to your honeymoon having stayed with us. We hope you can pop back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just enjoyed a fabulous three night stay here at The Old Country Hall,I guess prior trip advisers have covered nearly all of the bases when it comes to writing a glowing review of this property,we would just like to add that Simon and Gary take a lot of pride in their home and the same amount of pride in making their guests stay an occasion they will truly remember, as we both most certainly will.This review will be the start of the second century of reviews and if their present standards of excellence remain intact as they stand today then all future reviews should most definately be EXCELLENT as ninetyeight of the past ones were!! Well done to you both, and thank you for making us feel so very welcome, we shall most definately return!!!

Room Tip: They are all special.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kebuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Our 101st review and such a glowing one! Many thanks to you both for the brilliant review, we are both really pleased you enjoyed your 3 nights with us so much and appreciated the ambiance and facilities on offer here at The Old Hall. It would be lovely to see you again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed one night for our 3rd wedding anniversary. The owner Simon, upgraded us to the King Charles II Room which was out standing! Huge bed, which was soooooo comfortable! Ensuite bathroom was large with bath and shower. Bathrobes were available to use. Lovely gardens to wander around. Breakfast was served nice and hot, which was lovely. The reception we got when we arrived was excellent. Simon showed us to our room and came back 10 minutes later with a bottle of chilled champagne and two glasses and wished us a happy anniversary! A lovely touch. It is the little gestures like this that make your stay even more enjoyable and memorable. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelAnd013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your third anniversary celebrations. It was a pleasure to have met you both and many thanks for taking the time to write this review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My beautiful wife and myself had the absolute pleasure of experiencing the Old Hall on two different levels. On our first night (before our wedding) we experienced the venue as a Bed & Breakfast, with fantastic hosts Gary & Simon. Both were attentive to our needs and the rooms we took for ourselves and our parents were amazing. We stayed in the King Charles II room and the bed was amazingly comfortable. We were spoilt to a fantastic breakfast the following morning, prior to seeing the venue transformed for our wedding. The wedding was simply perfect, Gary attentive and calm and managing the proceedings, while Simon charged (very calmly) around the place making sure we had everything we needed, nothing was too much to ask for. We had looked for so long to find a place that met all our needs, the Old Hall was and is it. From the beautiful rooms, to the fantastic food through to the look and feel of the building and the beautiful grounds - we couldn't have asked for anything more. If you're looking for a quality, relaxing location, with attentive hosts and great food then this is your place. Thank you both so much. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have individual character and are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Martyn and Mell, what can we say, it was an absolute pleasure to have hosted your wedding and we are really chuffed that it surpassed your expectations. You became part of the family for the three days you were with us and your own family and friends made for a really great day for the day of your wedding. Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for taking the time to do so. We really hope we will see you again, maybe for your anniversary next year! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
6.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,204 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
539 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
19.6 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Country House

Address: Old Hall Poolside, Madeley CW3 9DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range: $129 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Hall Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hall Country House is in Madeley Staffordshire, close to Keele University, Stoke on Trent, Newcastle under Lyme and Nantwich. The property has been extensively refurbished and offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment. The house dates back to the 16th century and is of half timber construction, the rooms are full of beams, sloping floors and plenty of ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Country House Hotel Madeley
The Old Hall Country House Madeley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing