We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stop The World Cafe
Ranked #5 of 151 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

A Leigh institution now. I have heard of people coming far and wide just to come to STW. Their pancakes are heavenly and have with crispy bacon. Banana bread and latte. They don't do skinny coffees which I think they should. Their coffee and walnut cake is the best I've ever had in my life!
Chick lit wrap for lunch is a winner too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Littleprincessgurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

FACT .... our customers are the best in leigh,its an honour to be though of as an institution as we approach our 5th year.
Skinny Lattes available... always works well with banana bread

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 635 of 645 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a real gem of a cafe.
The food is lovely, one of my favourite things being the banana bread with brown sugar butter (real comfort food) and the coffee is HOT which is a huge attraction to me, I hate paying for a luke warm latte!!
The staff are friendly and the décor is lovely.
They have displays of fresh cake and biscuits to tempt you.
It's not the cheapest on Leigh Broadway but definitely worth a visit to catch up with friends or treat the family.

Thank ml29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for all your positive feed back. i realise we are not the cheapest in leigh, but sometimes quality products cost a little more. Everything we sell is produced in our kitchen with the freshest ingredients, everyone of our cakes are baked and dressed by us, with no additives or preservatives, we work to offer the best to our customers. i hope this is reflected in taste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Huge slices of cake at reasonable prices. Will definitely go back here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank You! We lurve the Cake!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Have visited Stop the World on many occasions the tea and cake is always excellent but for a lunch I feel it is overpriced. The service can be slow but on a nice day sitting outside watching the world go by in Leigh then it doesn’t really matter!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We have a new menu we have listened and read comments to try and offer better value for money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stop The World is awesome, it has such a cool vibe and fantastic range of food - and the cakes, simply brill - all served by a great team. One visit and your hooked. As mentioned not safe if your on a diet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fusd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki T, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Diet starts tomorrow so plenty of time for cake!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stop The World Cafe also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Stop The World Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing