We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old Leigh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Leigh

Old Leigh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“old Leigh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Like this part of Essex near the sea near older properties plenty to see and do nice places to eat nice shops to look around

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jane1pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    223
    31
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What's not to like-it's a great old town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Leigh old town is one of the nicest places to visit, eat and drink. There is a variety of things to do and see. FABULOUS!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yumtum1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A walk back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The old fishing village is well worth a visit. Stroll along by the cockle sheds and have a shellfish lunch with the fishing boats moored near-by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jojogluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cockles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I love going here, very nice ..like a fishing village, lots of choice for eating and drinking, and loved the fresh cockles

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kazzi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice stroll from Southend pier to leigh old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went on a coach from Maida Vale to Southend, the trip lasted about 1hr and a half. It was the 30th August and the weather was great, my wife and I came from Southend originally so knew it fairly well although I have to say the high street had changed quite radically in the 40years since I left. Our friends went on the pier and walked to the end and back (1mile and three quarters) we met them in the Esplanade pub and then took a brisk but pleasant stroll along the seashore to Old Leigh, which has changed very little, straight into "The Crooked Billet" for a pint and plate of cockles and whelks.Old Leigh is very picturesque, with cobbled streets, a small museum which is quite interesting, and a few craft shops, and of course the cockle sheds.There is a good restaurant called The Boatyard and another one under the flyover which we have yet to try. there are numerous pubs and tea shops, to suit all.
If you get a chance and the weather is nice its well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Leigh also viewed

 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Old Leigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing