We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockles whelks crabs n winkles”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Leigh

Old Leigh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cockles whelks crabs n winkles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Brilliant pubs with loads of chances to catch the fresh shellfish and sit and do a bit of people watching or listen to the seagulls ... If its a nice day a pint and fresh shell fish ... Failing that buy some and go home with it !! This place is always worth the visit ...love it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    223
    31
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
2,138 reviews
978 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit but leave your car at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is very atmosheric. There are some interesting shops, restaurants and tea rooms and a great view of the Thames Estuary. There is also a small beach and a number of places to buy high quality fresh fish and shellfish. The only downside is parking is very limited so come by train or bus.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“i love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

is the best place what i visit in all my life is so beatifful , i wish to go again , i walk i dont feel tired was verry nice experience , and the time go fast there, you need more than 3 hours and is not enough ,,,i love it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lacrimioara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Atmospheric!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lovely to walk along here and see a working harbour. Great place if you want to go pub crawling - four within a few minutes of each other!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cockle sheds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

People flock to Old Leigh but I always find it hard to park and not a lot there. If you go for the seafood there is a good choice but very limited for a coffee or lunch in nice surroundings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Leigh also viewed

 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Old Leigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing