We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
Ranked #32 of 142 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
southend
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great food excellent service, me and my girlfriend loved it. Small place but it doesn't need to be any larger. Our host was great, very friendly with some great chat and excellent recommendations. Best duck I've ever had. Perfect

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dacy_ebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    55
    9
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really love this place!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

You will not regret trying this place. The food was amazing and fantastic value for money! I cannot reccommend it enough. I really love this place

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“La Belle Epoque is a real gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This little gem in Leigh is fast becoming our favourite restaurant.
From the moment we step inside - to be met by a warm welcome from le patron - to the moment we leave - a visit to this little bistro is a special occasion.
Great food. I LOVE the smallness of the menu! You just KNOW that everything is not just fresh but is freshly prepared especially for you.
The music, the decor, the whole ambience complements the food, making eating at La Belle Epoque an experience to be savoured.
Quelle merveilleuse surprise. Une cuisine gastronomique dans Leigh-on-Sea - à un prix raisonnable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully intimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

this is the 3rd time me and my partner have been to this restraunt. Each time we have been we have been greeted by the very bubbly owner who creates a very comfortable ambiance. The food is undoubtably one of the best in the Leigh on sea area, with very authentic French dishes of the best quality. If you haven't been here you are missing out.

P.S. go for the confit de canard it is beautiful

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel sherif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon Hills
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You will be sorry if you miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was the best choice ever to celebrate my birthday. Excellent cuisine, professional and friendly staff, nice and intimate atmosphere, lovely music. Will definitely come back here and recommend the restaurant to our friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natalia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing