We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Leigh.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
Ranked #29 of 142 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Leigh.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've liked the look of this place ever since it first opened a year or so ago but hadn't yet got round to trying it out. Well, are we glad we finally have! French decor, real French music on an excellent sound system (plus video, love Francis Cabrel!), a real not plastic flower at your table, just the right lighting, beautifully presented tables, attentive, very friendly and knowledgeable but not overbearing service - all pretty much spot on.
As for the food, it's right up there with the best I've had at restaurants in France. The Foie Gras starter was simply devine, as was the salmon vol au vent. The Confit de Canard was melt-in-the-mouth superb and combined beautifully with the 2007 Pitray, and the veggies perfectly cooked. The tarte tatin for dessert was absolutely delicious, made and baked fresh. The only small criticism would be that the homemade ice cream had lumps of ice in it so they could take a leaf out of Irma's book on that. Otherwise everything about our evening here was superb and my wife and I can't wait to go again.
We urged the owner to get a Twitter account to help spread the word on this hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    55
    9
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top class food and warm friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Me and a group of friends went here for a birthday meal. We arrived at the restaurant and we were welcomed in by the owner, a very warm friendly man, who showed us to our seats. The service from both the waitress and the owner was very professional and we felt very welcomed. The food took a little while but when it arrived it was well worth the wait, the comfit de canard in particular was amazing. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very comfortable and easygoing which made for a very enjoyable night out. I will definitely be returning to eat here again.

All in all, very noice indeed. I would definitely recommend going to this restaurant as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Last night 7th March 2013 .We enjoyed a lovely meal at La Belle Epoque. A superb little restauarant with a very intimate special ambiance .The food was excellently prepared and the service was very personal and friendly.We will be making a point of returning on a regular basis. The menu is changed once every 6 weeks,and while the choice of dishes is not extensive ,the meals prepared are all first rate . I would seriously reccomend a visit,You will not be disappointed!! Clive.h

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clivechilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An evening well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A lovely welcome to this tiny restaurant. Had fish soup, ,potato salad to start & confit duck & cassoulet for mains. Yes it takes time, real food does. Then Tart au Citron & Chocolate Fondant for
dessert. ...wow! Now this is food done properly. ...you have to wait. ..this is not McDonald's! The wine is excellent. ..the maitre de is charming. ..this is probably one of the best restaurants in Essex.Take the one you love...relax, drink, and spend the evening without rushing. ...superb!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never ceases to impress!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and i have eaten here on a number of occasions and are always impressed by the quality of the food and the fantastic, friendly service. Tonight, Valentine's night was yet another impressive meal, with the usual intimate atmosphere and little touches that make the meal truly memorable. Being left to enjoy and digest each delicious course is a refreshing change and one cannot help but be impressed here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hcarter80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing