We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal”
Review of The Bellhouse

The Bellhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bellhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 151 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $52
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Bellhouse an idyllic country restaurant and pub located in the quaint village of Eastwood. Set in beautiful surroundings, the recently refurbished, family run 15th century Bellhouse steeped in history and charm really is the perfect place to relax and unwind with family and friends. Our fine selection of beers, traditional real ales and extensive wine list can all be enjoyed within our grounds, dining al-fresco on our large patio or simply cosy beside our open fires, whichever your preference you will be following in the footsteps of your Royal Heritage.At the heart of our pub is a team of highly experienced chef’s and staff who are all passionate about food. The style of our food is traditional British, influenced from all that is available locally and seasonal. The meat we use is of the highest quality, our roasted leg & loin of pork is from our Scott’s Hall farm in Canewdon which has proved to be equally as popular as the succulent Dedham Vale roasted rib of beef on a Sunday.All of our cured meats and smoked products are produced in house by our chefs. Fine mouth-watering examples include our house hot smoked salmon with pea puree confit cherry tomatoes and soft duck yoke and our house smoked wood pigeon salad served with butter roasted hazel nuts and toasted walnuts. We are equally passionate about using seasonal vegetables. Our chef’s take a lot of pride in their on-site herb garden. Other fresh ingredients arrive daily, some of our most exciting seasonal produce can be experienced on our daily specials board. A great deal of time is taken in preparation for your arrival and every meal is cooked for you to order.We are very conscious of our countries depleting fish stocks and try to utilize more sustainable species, as specials, which we find can be more flavoursome and offer a much greater variety.At the Bellhouse we are proud to support British farming. We hope you share our ethos of supporting local producers and suppliers and share our passion for Great British Food
Reviewed January 10, 2013

went for sunday lunch on 6th jan never been to the bellhouse before and was glad we booked the four of us all had 3 courses and was not let down at all. would reccomend this resturant and the pub anytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bowlingboy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLHOUSE321, Manager at The Bellhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of The Bellhouse Restaurant, we welcome feedback both good and bad, using so that we can continue to grow and improve on the services we offer.

I am delighted to learn that you and your guest thoroughly enjoyed you Sunday lunch with us. We pride ourselves on the top quality dishes we deliver to our guests and inparticular our Sunday roasts are very hard to rival! We do our up most to ensure all the trimmings are available to enjoy with your roasts, from the homemade stuffing and pork crackling through to the homemade cauliflower cheese. We only use the best quality meat and produce, which I think you will agree shows in the end result.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review on our venue, and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bellhouse in the near future.

Kind Regards

Samantha Hunt
Events and Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 693 of 723 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We came here christmas eve and had a lovely meal, the service was great and the food was top notch. I had the guinea fowl with black truffle mash, kale and cauliflower puree, I cant say how amazing this food was, it wasnt too rich or filling, just the right portion size. I had never tried guinea fowl before either but this meal was really sold to me with the accompanients with it! Definitely recommend. This place is really classy since its been done up too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Essex111983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLHOUSE321, Manager at The Bellhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of The Bellhouse Restaurant, we welcome all feedback good or bad and use it in a way to continue improving our standards and the service we offer.

I am delighted to learn that your experience with us was so enjoyable; and that you are in favour of our new decor following the refurbishment, our hope is that we set an inviting atmosphere within cosy but elgeant surroundings for all to enjoy.

With reference to our menus, we use fresh, local produce where ever possible, allowing our chef team the ability to add different meats and dishes at affordable prices, and in turn offering all of our guests new dining experiences much like the guinea fowl dish you found 'amazing' on your visit.

Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our venue, and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bellhouse in the future.

Kind Regards

Samantha Hunt
Events and Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

6 of us dined here Saturday lunchtime, 15/12/12 I could not possibly fault this restaurant in any way. The staff were impeccable, we were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was of top standard and having frequented many restaurants I would definately reccomend this restaurant. The steak was cooked to perfection, (top marks to the chef) we all sat leisurely for a couple of hours and was in no way rushed. I would like to congratulate the staff and management for such a lovely and important lunch, thankyou, will be returning x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traceyjxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLHOUSE321, Manager at The Bellhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Tracey,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant experience with us here at The Bellhouse.

We pride ourseleves on being able to offer a top rate service and a memorable dining experience to all guests on every occasion possible.

The chef team are highly talented and only use the best quality produce, in order to ensure the dishes recieved by our guests are of the highest standard at all times- which I am sure you will agree.

We encourage feedback of all kind in order to help us continue growing and improving as a business and positive feedback is an extra boost to help us on our way.

Once again thank you fo ryour review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bellhouse in the near future.

Kind regards

Samantha Hunt
Events and Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I visited the bell house for a meal with my husband. We found the staff were very helpful, the food was absolutely brilliant and very good value. We ended the evening with a drink in the bar we found the atmosphere very welcoming. Would highly recommend

Thank Cabray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLHOUSE321, Manager at The Bellhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate all customer feedback, and use it as a way to progress and enhance our service and business, allowing us to continue being the restaurant hard to rival in our local area.

I am delighted to learn that you found the the service, food and atmosphere to be so good, we work very hard to ensure we are working to a high standard within both our front of house teams and our chef/kitchen teams.

Thank you once again for your review & I look forward to hopfully welcoming you back to The Bellhouse in the near future.

Kind Regards

Samantha


Samantha Hunt
Events & Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited on a cold, wet, wintery afternoon, the drive into the pub was welcoming and classy. The welcome and ambiance were warm, the seating was comfortable and the table cosy and relaxed.

The service was fast and friendly and the children were included when taking orders. The menu was extensive and the food fresh and obviously of the highest quality. Everything tasted delicious and we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_n_Mrs_Claxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLHOUSE321, Manager at The Bellhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our restaurant, we are delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable experience with us.

We take on board all customer feedback and use it as a chance to improve and grow as a business, to ensure every visit with us is of the highest standard and a memorable experience for all the right reasons.

As pointed out in your review we believe in using only the highest quality produce that is delivered daily, and where possible from local suppliers and farmers, resulting in ‘outstanding’ dishes being presented on every occasion.

We do our up-most to make all feel welcome at The Bellhouse and are very happy to have families dine with us, we ensure we have a varied children’s menu with plenty of healthy balanced meals at very reasonable prices and have recently refurbished our children’s play area to keep our younger diners entertained!

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bellhouse in the near future, however if I can be of any further assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me on 01702 524271.

Kind regards
Samantha
Samantha Hunt
Events and Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bellhouse also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Bellhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing