We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views for a family run cafe”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #7 of 166 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Contemporary and informal bistro style restaurant open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch or just delicious coffees and cake. Plus 3 evenings for dinner (Thurs*, Fri & Sat - *Apr-Dec). Fully licensed to serve alcohol with meals with an excellent range of wines not found anywhere else in the area.Food cooked with passion, flair and imagination with plenty of options for vegetarians. From warm salads to juicy burgers, Thai curries to flatbread type sandwiches. Specials on the blackboards change every couple of days to keep things interesting.We pride ourselves on looking after all our customers and will do all we can especially for those with dietary needs/allergies.Our evening menu starts at 7pm
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Food is very nice though a little pricey, good service and great views down the cliffs if you sit outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 665 of 949 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Really great little cafe with lots of great reviews that we totally agree with.

Visited over lunch on Saturday and it was packed. Waited for only about 5 mins for a table and we were seated by a really nice young lady.

Service was quick and food was really lovely. We had salad, burgers chips and all was really great.

The lady with glasses and the tattoo on her back (sorry, didn't get your name!) was just a really lovely lovely waitress. Polite, friendly, helpful and smiley. Definitely the star of the show.

All amazing, only minor thing preventing 5 stars is that it's not amazingly comfortable. That is minor and it is a cafe, but would be good to have some nicer roomier seats/tables.

Will definitely be back

Thank nomadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted, as Sam, your waitress, will be, that you had such an enjoyable lunch with us on Saturday.

The front and the back of the restaurant table configurations were not as they normally are on this day as we had two big parties in the conservatory area, one for 22 and the other for a 10! This meant we had to move some of the tables around which did unfortunately mean that the front of the restaurant was a little "cosier" than normal.

We are confident that on your next visit, perhaps for dinner next time, that you will enjoy more space. However, we are so pleased that this did not prevent you from enjoying your lunch.


Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon.

Louise, Delvin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went to The Grove for lunch with two small boys. The food was good and almost too plentiful. The boys were well catered for, the price reasonable and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. It was obviously a very popular restaurant and they could do with a bit more room to fit everyone in but saying that we were not squashed. Thank you all, we will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife her twin sister plus 15 girlfriends had their special birthday celebrations at the grove.

The hospitality and professionalism were outstanding. I understand the food was great and whilst they had picked their food of choice some days before it was served in good time and everyone's satisfaction. A hard thing to do when eating in a large group.

Many of the guests had travelled several hundred miles and found the experience worth the petrol.

Fun was had by every one and provided my wife and her sister and their friends an evening to remember. Well done The Grove and for those who perhaps would like to celebrate a special event with a group of friends then it is a venue that should go top of your list.

PWE

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you so much and we are so pleased that such a good time was had by all.

Kind regards

Louise, Delvin and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Steak Sanswich- £12.00 hardly any steak at all, too many onions, couldn't taste the Dijon mustard. Not enough chips either.
Chicken breast burger- boring! Plain chick breat in a bun. Couldn't taste the basil in the mayo and had the tiniest bit of cheese in it. I actually had to add salt and pepper to it which I have never had to do to a chicken burger! The chip were disgusting- soggy and floppy! Waste of money. The best bit wa the bun. Lady that seated us was clear the owner and was lovely, waitresses were nice. Not a great lunch, should have walked up into the broadway instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SmallWoman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Natalie

I was very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the lunch that you had with us yesterday & that you left disappointed. I must say I was also surprised to read your comments as both these items are amongst our best sellers.

May I assure you that had you drawn your dissatisfaction to our attention whilst you were in the restaurant we would have done our utmost to ensure that you were happy. There is, as you will understand, very little we can do after the event other than to say sorry and that we hope you will visit again.

Kind regards

Louise Pitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing