We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Treat.”

The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd.
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 173 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. has been apart of the Leigh Community for 15 years. We're a family run Restaurant with a love of Seafood. Everyday we learn some new, even after all these years, but we always have the ultimate aim of improving ourselves. We are Doggy friendly, and your pooch is welcome in our Downstairs Bar & Restaurant Area.We have a Wedding Licence and have held many weddings here. We have an upstairs Restaurant, which is used for many kinds of special occasions, Birthdays, Funerals, Business dinners, Company Events, Charities evenings, Film nights, Fashion Shows, Plays, Cooking Classes,Dance Classes & many other events. We haven't had a Doggy Fashion Show yet, but give us time!
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked for a Friday evening dinner date night. I have lived in Leigh for 10 years and have heard mixed reviews plus I’m not too big on seafood so this was our first visit. The restaurant was cosy we sat upstairs. The staff were very attentive and the food was really good and reasonably priced for “Leigh and Seafood”. We will certainly be visiting again sometime in the future.

Thank JAG979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ourword, Manager at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much.
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us.

We are a family run restaurant and celebrating 20 years!
So delighted that you tried us for the first time; and look forward to seeing you again.

All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 413 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2018

Visited on a Friday and have to say that the food and service was excellent along with a great atmosphere in the restaurant. Highly recommend the smoked Haddock with a poached egg on top !
My only critic would be is that their website needs to be updated. I looked at the website before our visit and there were a number of meals available on the set menu for 2 courses at £14.99 . However not only has the price changed , there is limited availability on the actual menu compared to what's on offer on the site. Never the less the food was excellent and well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

thank you for your kind review - you are correct our website does need updating - like many things, it should be done, but life gets so chaotic something else always seems to take priority. Once again thank you and take care Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Called in here for a bottle of wine with a mate on a sunny afternoon off. We chose a seat outside and were very quickly told by a group of very rude wrinkled old ladies that we were not allowed to smoke in the seats we were sat in. At this point they accused us of already smoking pointing to the butts under our chairs. We are smokers but actually had not smoked since arriving so we were immediately put off by what seemed a deluded bunch of half cut old ladies.

We carried on enjoying our bottle of very overpriced wine and ignored those around us. My friend then lit a cigarette up. Firstly we were outside and the door was closed. You can not dictate what is smoking and non smoking seats when you are outside and if you do you put clear signs up. There were no signs apart from one stating there was wet paint. At this point one of the wrinkled old ladies decided to announce she was the owner and that we were being rude by smoking after we had clearly been told the smoking boundaries. Actually we were told by a marauding bunch of half cut pensioners not by anyone who clearly stated the rules to us with any authority. Owner.......if you want customers to return then get signs for your pathetic outside smoking laws and be firm and polite to your customers if you really want any of them to return. Other customers around us said you handled the situation badly and that you were more interested in continuing filling your friends glasses than anything else. Rude? the only person that was rude was you!

6  Thank Robster952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

I am very sorry you had such an unpleasant experience, we do not allow smoking within the railed area. If people were, they should not have been. As for the owner, I am the owner, I don't drink and I don't smoke!! My mother was with some friends and had been to a funeral and possibly had a few too many, I can only apologise for their behaviour. It is very unfortunate that they were rude to you, but calling them wrinkled is a little harsh. As I stated earlier that I am very sad that were made to feel uncomfortable, I wish you well and take care Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Good food - but their menu NEVER changes - its a shame they don't make more use of the fresh fish on their doorstep

1  Thank K9409LVjoannad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ourword, Manager at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment.
We do have a core menu; however we do change at least 3 fish courses; every 2 - 3 weeks depending on what is good in the market.

So do hope you find something new to try next time you visit.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Well stocked bar for just a drink or to eat.
A la carte or Set menu 14.99 plus meatless Monday’s. Vedgetarion options. Relaxed atmosphere, outside, ground and upstairs covers. Lovely food and good service.

Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ourword, Manager at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much.
Lovely to hear you enjoy the Sandbar.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd. also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing