We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Leigh on Sea”
Review of Agostinho's - CLOSED

Agostinho's
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Regatta Restaurant is a newly opened family run business. We specialise in locally sourced British contemporary and classic cuisine.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Leigh on Sea”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came with my family to Agostinho's just after Christmas. There were 6 of us and we all had a terrific time and had excellent meals and the service was superb. Pauline the manageress made us all very welcome, as is usual for her, and I will be definitely will be going again very soon.

The chef, Jorge, never fails. His meals are always cooked to perfection and it speaks for itself as this restaurant has been in Leigh for 30 years now. I do hope Agostinho's remains the top restaurant in Leigh as it definitely deserves this position.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    41
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked a table for 5 for the Saturday night just after Christmas. Nice welcome and service from the staff. We all had 3 courses. The prawn & avocado salad starter was excellent, squid very tasty, scallops & tiger prawns very good. Main courses of fish plus one steak were excellent. Lemon tart dessert described as 'best ever had'. Agostinho then came out of the kitchen and introduced himself which was nice. Very impressive. £190 bill was about right. It's not cheap but was a very good meal and there was a warm ambience inside the restaurant. There's no hurry here either, take your time, enjoy wine/coffee afterwards, as unlike some restaurants you don't feel they want you to leave so they can seat the next diners.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MigsEarWigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“�� Our favourite restaurant in leigh ��”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just in from a most enjoyable evening at Agostinhos, from start to finish a friendly service and the most beautifully cooked meal ! We all enjoyed seafood starters, the scallop and king prawn starter is by far our most favourite and cooked perfectly.
Three of us had the rack of lamb with garlic mash and again all cooked to perfection, the rest had steaks with various sauces and every plate was cleared!! That says it all!!
The piece de resistance was the freshly baked molotofe pudding - amazing !!!!!
We all love this restaurant and Pauline and Jorge, who both make it a very special place to spend an evening with friends xxx look forward to our next visit

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS FOOD, FANTASTIC SERVICE, HOORAY FOR AGOSTINHOS!!!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Visited Agostinhos again today for lunch.
We didnt opt for a Starter because we know that the portions are always so generous that we wouldnt be able to do it justice. My Mum and I both chose roast lamb. Our plates arrived with a more than generous portion of perfectly cooked roast lamb with a huge yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and parsnips. The waiter then brought perfectly cooked brussel sprouts, carrots and mouthwatering cauliflower cheese and extra roast potatoes. My mum and I couldn't fault it, it was absolutely delicious from the first to the last mouthful. The service was attentive and friendly and Pauline, the co-owner made us feel very special and nothing was too much trouble. So nice to get this level of service. We would wholeheartedly recommend Agostinhos to anybody looking for delicious food with excellent prices and great service. Great great value for money. Will definitely be going back again and again.
Having read the very latest reviews I can only think that these people didn't actually eat at Agostinhos because their reviews don't reflect it at all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillykessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend On Sea
1 review
“Superb Sunday lunch”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We took my mother for Sunday lunch having eaten here on many occasions in the past We chose from both the "specials" and the regular menu and could could not find fault the food which we all thoroughly enjoyed. Can honestly say we have never had a bad meal here. Pauline, the owner is so friendly and attentive whether you"re regular or it"s your first time experiencing this delightful restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agostinho's also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing