We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negative review's, why?, brilliant meal, 5 stars+”

The Boatyard Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 142 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $14 - $78
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Negative review's, why?, brilliant meal, 5 stars+”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was a birthday treat, so ask for a window table and we got that overlooking the water (it was dark but the light's and the odd boat going past was nice to look out to) We had the set menu it was a really very nice meal, for starters we had the soup and the blue cheese with nectarine segments, main was Char grilled chicken on a fresh rosemary and Calvados jus, and I had one of the best burgers I ever tasted, both meal's with the best chunky chips, crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside. then I had a Lemon, raspberry posset, and with 2 large glasses of wine, coffee and a tea, the bill came to £45, great value. our waiter was real nice, friendly and helpful (if you read this I was the who came to the bar to say thank-you last night). the place was clean, modern and even though large, a great atmosphere, with a piano player as background music, that you could watch him on a large screen. We parked at the start of the old town and walked down, as it a lovely old street, very pretty. and if you have a large party, perfect with separate areas including a upstairs area. we will be back to sit on the patio in the summer. five stars, wish I could give it more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myscimitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    316
    240
    157
    136
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and location”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A varied and tasty meal served overlooking the Thames Estuary. The staff are very helpful arranging a good table and even a birthday cake for my father's 80th birthday surprise.
Very good value drinks and menu generally especially the 2 and 3 course options
Many thanks to all the staff on duty both that day and those arranging the whole thing for us

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlandfordBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard L, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Everyone at The Boatyard works together as a team and we are all delighted to hear we contributed to the enjoyment of your father's birthday.
Kind regards
Cllare Carey
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old and Broken!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited the boatyard with friends and its not our first time here and in the past all experience has been good. However This restaurant is now a victim of its own success, the menu is poor and needs updating, the cost is not value for the standard of food dished up. If the food was good the price would be fine. I ordered fried fish starter and it was overcooked dripping in oil and just a few bits of small seafood. you could taste the oil and not the fish. Main courses were no better my steak was very poor and its not hard to get steak right. The restaurant was only 50% full and we were asked on 4 occasions to go to our table at 8.30 when clearly we were not in a rush to be seated. This venue has the perfect setting and should be alot better but I feel standards have slipped on a big scale and im not sure its so easy to recover.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveoandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard L, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave your review following your latest visit to The Boatyard. I was very concerned to read your comments, we endeavour to have the keenest prices we can possibly offer for the highest quality fish or other produce we can possibly source - I am sorry if you felt our menu was overpriced.

I read your comment about the timing with interest, - many of our customers come to us for our relaxed, no pressure atmosphere, we certainly wouldn't want to be rushing customers from the bar to their tables on the other hand we wouldn't wish anyone to feel forgotten about.

As a past customer we hope you visit us again and give us the opportunity to change your opinion.

Regards
Cllare Carey
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have visited the boatyard many times over the past 5 years. Due to comments from other people, we keep expecting the next visit to be disappointing........however the food, atmosphere and service have been superb every time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanAelaPeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard L, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your most recent visit to The Boatyard, we were delighted to read your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great!!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Was a little concerned after reading the reviews on here but have now come to the conclusion that trip advisor is basically a waste of time and full of vitriolic anuses!! Visited 16th Oct with friends. Eat off of the set menu which was superb value for money. Quality of food was excellent and service very good indeed. Not a bad wine list either!! I am looking forward to returning. Ignore all bad reviews, this restaurant is excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard L, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing