We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Fails to offer a wonderful experience”

The Boatyard Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 143 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $14 - $78
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never Fails to offer a wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My Husband and I had a fantastic evening of great food , entertainment and wonderful staff when we recently booked to see the Rat Pack - we often book to have a Sunday Lunch at the Boatyard as we cannot fault it - on staff , value and food - I find some of the poor reviews to be untrue and very unfair - we were there recently on a Sunday when the staff were bending over backwards to placate a gentleman on a table near to us celebrating his wedding anniversary - they all were having a wonderful time until it was time to pay the bill ? One can always find fault if one has made up their mind ! Take little notice of the poor Reviews and make your own mind up -

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mia049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We really appreciate your custom and thank you for your lovely review and down to earth comments. It's certainly true that you can't please all of the people all of the time but that doesn't stop us trying ! The Rat Pack are here again 17th May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    331
    245
    167
    147
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely, lovely place!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my first visit to the Boatyard, and would highly recommend it. There were six of us in total celebrating a special birthday! We had a great table and great waiter. As it was a Sunday lunchtime we had the special menu, which did not disappoint in any way. The house red was also wonderful.

Thank you for making the day so special for my friend and for introducing us to a gem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you! Our Sunday Lunch menu is extremely popular and we have just updated our wine list, pleased to know you selected an enjoyable red to go with it. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My fiencee and I came here for valentines night, I wish we hadn't bothered and gone elsewhere.
The food was poor quality, no bread with the soup or ground black pepper.tha ice cream was so frozen and full of ice crystals it was not edible.
We had a 6.30 table and told we had untill about.9.30. But we were seated and rushed through our meal and was finished before the entertainment started at 7.30. £100 for a meal and 2 vodka & lemonade s each is nothing but a discrace for the quality of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Richpaletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I'm sorry to learn of your disappointment on Valentine's Day, It's unusual to be offered neither bread or black pepper with the soup nor have an opportunity to request them from your waiter. He or she would have gladly replaced any dish were not happy with such as the ice cream you mention. Similarly it certainly would not have been their intention to 'rush' you, in fact our receptionist remembers expressing surprise that you were leaving just as the entertainment started but understands you had a later engagement. It does sound that a special evening fell somewhat short of the mark. If you would like to visit us again do please let me know in advance so that I can ensure your next experience at The Boatyard is a positive one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good service - a bit pricey”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a really good night at the Boatyard. The service and attention to detail was really good. Great atmosphere and I recommend the swordfish. Nice live music and friendly accommodating staff. Great for a special occasion but it is over priced.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tab C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you again thank you. 'Sorry if you found us a little expensive although we do keep our prices in line with other restaurants in the area. If you are able to visit us during the week take advantage of our mid-week special menu, two courses £11.95, three £14.95, great value.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“boatyard reunion”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was invited to a family reunion, and after reading reviews was a little apprehensive, but the restaurant was amazing; the staff could not have been more courteous. They were polite, attentive and service was excellent. The food was beautifully presented and delicious, and exceptional value. Best meal out for years.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 408Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing